Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I Bring 883 Iron to Dealer for 1K Service?

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2018, 03:53 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,851 Likes on 2,419 Posts
Wink

As we can see there are a variety of opinions. By all means service your bike in future, but I regard that first service as very important. I've been buying new bikes since the 1960s and with several of them there have been issues which either I have identified, or the dealer did which I hadn't noticed. I have always and will continue to have that first service done.

The following users liked this post:
cacomly (09-27-2018)
Old 09-26-2018, 05:44 AM
Back-n-Black
Road Warrior
Received 427 Likes on 229 Posts

Originally Posted by Mborras1
I look at it two ways if it’s under warranty and will void if not done by dealer.....

BS....Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act

Old 09-26-2018, 05:58 AM
Steve Sportster
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2,256 Likes on 1,096 Posts

To original poster from New Jersey: I thought having the 1000 mile service done at a dealer was a good idea, too, on my 2017 XL1200T Superlow. Turned out they did not use the correct gasket on the primary chain tension inspection cover. Leaked oil like crazy. They stood behind it and picked it up, fixed it and apologized. The point is that I would not have made that mistake after wrenching for almost 50 years. Never again unless service or repair is something I'm not tooled for. Take the advice given many times; get a service manual and do it yourself. There are also many videos out there to help you cover all the bases. I recommend Delboy's videos on a Sportster. You will learn more about your bike by doing it yourself, and you are, I'm sure, quite capable of doing it correctly.

Old 09-26-2018, 06:12 AM
streetfighter06
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts