Sportster tach kit from HD - Page 2 - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sportster tach kit from HD

  #11  
Old 01-10-2019, 05:25 AM
WKNDS's Avatar
WKNDS
WKNDS is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas area, TX
Posts: 2,135
Thanked 304 Times in 267 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by handirifle View Post
Where is the tach? I dont have one to put in there.
Except for the HD "kit" you listed above, the "mount" is almost always
sold separately. You'd just have to get the tach guage by itself.

T.
 
  #12  
Old 01-10-2019, 08:56 AM
stereoguy's Avatar
stereoguy
stereoguy is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 2,897
Thanked 54 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Here is mine, I don't remember the item numbers. It is an old picture too.

 
  #13  
Old 01-11-2019, 09:31 AM
Las Vegas Jim
Las Vegas Jim is offline
Supporter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Hendeson, NV
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also went with the HD analog tach/digital speedometer. (I use sound and tach readings to control shift points and speed.) The unit is a plug-n-play easy install, and the speed readout is large enough to read at a glance. My experience is that this is a better solution than trying to add another gauge.
 
  #14  
Old 01-11-2019, 10:47 AM
handirifle
handirifle is offline
Senior Rider
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Somewhere out west
Posts: 464
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I have had too many situations where digital displays are hard to see. I am pretty old school in how a bike should look and much prefer the seperate analog large displays.
 
  #15  
Old 01-11-2019, 11:44 AM
handirifle
handirifle is offline
Senior Rider
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Somewhere out west
Posts: 464
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by stereoguy View Post
Here is mine, I don't remember the item numbers. It is an old picture too.


Interesting. Have never seen a verticle setup like that.
 
  #16  
Old 01-11-2019, 12:16 PM
WKNDS's Avatar
WKNDS
WKNDS is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas area, TX
Posts: 2,135
Thanked 304 Times in 267 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by handirifle View Post
Interesting. Have never seen a verticle setup like that.
After a bit of searching....

2 5/8 mini tach mounting bracket fits 04-later xl customs--Part# 69426-04
2 5/8 mini tach-black face 68953-04, or 2 5/8 silver face-- Part3 68986-04

2 5/8 mini tach gauge housing-- Part# 67524-04.

hth,

T.

 
  #17  
Old 01-13-2019, 11:21 PM
handirifle
handirifle is offline
Senior Rider
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Somewhere out west
Posts: 464
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Rode in to church this morning and took a good look at my layout on the bars. Truthfully, there is no room for a side by side speedo-tach. So I guess when I upgrade it will have to be a combo. That or remove stuff I have there and don't plan on doing that.

Those with the HD combo's, ever have any issues with bright light visibility? Any issues with reliability either?
 
  #18  
Old 01-13-2019, 11:33 PM
handirifle
handirifle is offline
Senior Rider
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Somewhere out west
Posts: 464
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

Wknds
HD write up says can toggle between miles to empty trip meter etc. Is that done by the button on the back? Does HD have a remote handlebar switch for that possibly. Would sure be less awkward.
 
  #19  
Old 01-14-2019, 05:46 AM
WKNDS's Avatar
WKNDS
WKNDS is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dallas area, TX
Posts: 2,135
Thanked 304 Times in 267 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by handirifle View Post
Wknds
HD write up says can toggle between miles to empty trip meter etc. Is that done by the button on the back? Does HD have a remote handlebar switch for that possibly. Would sure be less awkward.
Yes, button on the back only. You can d/l the instructions from the website.
https://serviceinfo.harley-davidson.com/sip/service/document/239891?locale=en_US

hth,

T.
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: