Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fastest (best) way to accelerate 0-60 w/ a 1200

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2008, 03:15 AM
steveny914
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fastest (best) way to accelerate 0-60 w/ a 1200

Ok some may think this Q is pointless because its a cruiser not a Hayabusa....BUT....I have a nightster and now that I have been riding for a few months I am wondering the best way to take off if you were looking for fastest acceleration- but safely. (they forgot that part in the riders course!). This is my first bike and as you know the N doesnt have a tach...so I have been shifting on feel/engine sound etc....would you stay in the lower gears longer or get through them quicker to take off quick??? Just need a little 101 schooling...

Old 09-20-2008, 05:28 AM
dbleagle
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Yeah... you're right... but if you're that new... I'd say take your time... you'll learn all those bad things yourself in time...

Charlie D.

Old 09-20-2008, 06:16 AM
rodneyj123
Intermediate
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

A quick take off has nothing to do with higher gears, it is done only in first gear. Shifting gears will come after you've mastered the take off (or launch).

You WILL NEED TO BUY A TACHOMETER. You can't launch without one and you can't shift gears without one.

Traction is paramount. It is the most important thing to launching a vehicle. You generally run a little lower rear tire pressure to increase it's traction. For the street maybe 28 psi, for the dragstrip maybe 20 psi. Unfortunately Harley’s don't come with high traction tires, they come with bias ply tires where as Buells come with sticky road racing tires that have way more traction than your Harley has. So you might consider buying different tires (and possibly wheels).