No Speedo? - Page 2 - Harley Davidson Forums

Notices
Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

No Speedo?

  #11  
Old 05-03-2010, 11:55 AM
harleyphoenix
harleyphoenix is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 588
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Been riding for 34 years, turn signals and all gauges are the first to be removed.
 
  #12  
Old 05-03-2010, 01:33 PM
kahaone
kahaone is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Berwick, Pa
Posts: 1,083
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Sure, you can do without the speedometer. But there are many more valid reasons for keeping it, than there are for getting rid of it.
I'd say your mechanic was spot on........I wouldn't advise it sounds like good advice from a mechanic.
But as said, you can do without it, you just have a few more inconveniences to deal with.
 
  #13  
Old 05-03-2010, 02:56 PM
XL50#674's Avatar
XL50#674
XL50#674 is offline
Elite HDF Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Streetsboro, Oh
Posts: 4,904
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Joker357 View Post
The computer stores that info I thought. The odometer is just a display.

Not sure on the bikes, but you are half correct when it comes to newer 4 wheeled vehicles. The PCM keeps that info, but the cluster always keeps it. Like on many or all newer cars and trucks if you were to buy a used cluster and plug it in to your car the cluster will read the mileage that was last on it-not what your PCM says unless it's reprogramed to read what the PCM has stored. This goes for digital odometers too.
 
  #14  
Old 10-03-2017, 10:06 PM
Mike Elledge
Mike Elledge is offline
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Anyone of you selling a speedo? I bought a crashed bike got it all together and it wont allow me to crank it the alarm is going off i have the original key and fob with a new fob battery, at this point i think i need to get a speedo and do the code learn process am i rite?
 
  #15  
Old 10-03-2017, 10:12 PM
apache snow's Avatar
apache snow
apache snow is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: over the mountain
Posts: 720
Thanked 144 Times in 121 Posts
Default

I don't care for the speeding tickets. I need to know how fast I'm going.
 
  #16  
Old 01-10-2019, 06:39 PM
bmac2008's Avatar
bmac2008
bmac2008 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have done the exact same but I want to keep the indicator lights. My speedo has 4 wires coming form the main harness, one is black, which I assume needs grounded, which other wire did you ground. Is amazing there are not 100 posts about guys doing same. See my post here https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sport...tor-panel.html. Thanks for any asist. Robert M.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
JohnDoe
Dyna Glide Models
10
03-09-2018 09:36 AM
TeaRunner
Softail Models
7
01-14-2018 03:15 PM
LJL4
Dyna Glide Models
0
07-28-2017 08:43 AM
Ryan James Otis
Sportster Models
2
04-28-2017 07:57 PM
deacon000
Electrical/Lighting/Alarm
1
05-06-2016 10:33 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: No Speedo?


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us About Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: