Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Sportster Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sportster-models-10/)
-   -   Shifting (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sportster-models/5608-shifting.html)

1200c 06-19-2005 04:02 PM

Shifting

I'm new to riding motorcyles. I am also new to using a manual transmission. When I ask people questions about shifting, most of them just tell me that they hear it and feel it. That doesn't help my learning. Maybe you can answer some of my questions.

The owners manual says to shift at 15mph (1st to 2nd), 25mph (2nd to 3rd), 35mph (3rd to 4th), 45mph (4th to 5th). Are those minimun shift points? I don't want to lug the engine. I have found out that the engine accelerates a lot smoother, when I bump those shift points up 5 mph. So I will shift into 2nd at 20mph. 3rd at 30 mph. However, when I'm in third the engine seems to be able to go up to 50mph without a problem. Am I keeping it in first gear too long? Do I shift into other gears too early?

When shifting up or down the manual says to first close the throttle then pull in the clutch. When I start to close the throttle the bike starts to slow, then when I close it all the way I feel the engine braking. Is that the way to do it? I have noticed that if you pull in the clutch first then close the throttle it's a much smoother transition. Or you can close the throttle as you're pulling in the clutch. What is the right way to do it?