Install new exhaust and remove oxygen sensors? - Page 3 - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back  Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Sportster Models
Reload this Page >

Install new exhaust and remove oxygen sensors?

Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Install new exhaust and remove oxygen sensors?

Reply

 
 
 
  #21  
Old 08-12-2017, 12:29 PM
SgtThump's Avatar
SgtThump
SgtThump is offline
Road Warrior
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 1,949
Thanked 50 Times in 38 Posts
Default

I didnt know anything about it when i first started this thread years ago.

Just installed an FM Microtuner, which uses dummy plugs to trick the o2 sensors, so they're not being used anyway. May remove them to get the extra wires and crap off the big, then plug the o2 holes on the headers.
 
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-13-2017, 08:21 PM
T^2's Avatar
T^2
T^2 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,147
Thanked 196 Times in 159 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SgtThump View Post
I didnt know anything about it when i first started this thread years ago.

Just installed an FM Microtuner, which uses dummy plugs to trick the o2 sensors, so they're not being used anyway. May remove them to get the extra wires and crap off the big, then plug the o2 holes on the headers.
Funny... I didn't even notice this was an old thread.
 
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to T^2 For This Useful Post:
SgtThump (08-13-2017)
  #23  
Old 11-25-2017, 07:20 AM
Jjsarge123
Jjsarge123 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Columbus ohio
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default No O2 sensor, no problem (for me)

I made this account just to respond to this.

I have a 2012 harley 1200 that had original exhaust.
1st I took out the baffles and it lost some top end power

then I put on straight pipes and disconnected the O2 sensors. I expected the engine light to come on. What happened was it definitely has more horsepower and no engine light.
 
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-25-2017, 10:12 PM
guitarfish's Avatar
guitarfish
guitarfish is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: PA
Posts: 2,023
Thanked 345 Times in 278 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by SgtThump View Post
I didnt know anything about it when i first started this thread years ago.

Just installed an FM Microtuner, which uses dummy plugs to trick the o2 sensors, so they're not being used anyway. May remove them to get the extra wires and crap off the big, then plug the o2 holes on the headers.
Same here. I have the Micro EFI. The O2 sensors are in a box, and the holes are plugged.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
EricD701
Electrical/Lighting/Alarm
7
01-06-2018 10:59 AM
lewk
Sportster Models
8
06-19-2017 12:19 PM
jobibreakout
Engine Mechanical Topics
3
09-14-2016 07:55 AM
Steven Driever
Sportster Models
2
05-23-2016 12:56 PM
JDSporty
New "Rushmore" Models
9
02-15-2016 07:45 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Install new exhaust and remove oxygen sensors?


Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: