Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 Sportster sputters and dies

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2011, 12:42 PM
Anixon88
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 Sportster sputters and dies

Hi all

So today while going to school, and coming back. my Harley died, both times.
There is a stretch of freeway, and I was going 100+ each time it died. and what happened was it sputtered as I gave it some throttle, and then died.
Both times it sputtered intermittently before it died too. as if it was all leading up to turning off.

I put the 4 ways on but both times, but before I was fully stopped I managed to get it started again. the second time it took a few more tries to get it to start.

The first time it happened, I checked the oil when I got to school, and it was filled with micro bubbles. I dont know if this has anything to do with anything.

I'm very new to working on my harley, as its my first bike ever. I have read a whole bunch already on this, and it seems like it could be anything from a dirty carb, to jets not being tuned properly, to bad fuel, to battery cables. If there are any other potential reasons, please let me know!

It is a recent problem, and I always put premium in it, but this past time i didnt go to the same gas station as normal, So I already filled it up with a new tank of what I normally use.

Is it possible to check how dirty the carb is without taking it off/apart?

How about tuning the jets? How difficult would that be?

I tentatively plan to take the carb apart this winter, I am very weary of the whole process, as i dont want to screw anything up. I am pretty technically minded though, and like to take things apart. So i dont know if that would make it a breeze or not.

Old 10-05-2011, 01:22 PM
parabellum_9x19
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts