Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Sportster Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sportster-models-10/)
-   -   Nightster Winter Makeover (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/sportster-models/706652-nightster-winter-makeover.html)

Ergonight 11-11-2011 09:42 PM

Nightster Winter Makeover

20 Attachment(s)
I'm starting this thread to document over the coming months the complete make over of my Nightster. I don't know if anyone is going to follow my ramblings with any interest but in the best tradition of this forum, my intent is to share what I'm doing periodically, in as much detail as possible, so that others can evaluate my methods, approach and techniques and either learn from them or have a good chuckle at my fumbling, bumbling ineptitude as I try to make the bike my own. And don't worry, I will post pics along the way.

A bit of history to start this off. I started riding in my teens about 40 years ago. My first bike was a Kawasaki 100 dirt bike and the following year I graduated to a 250cc Green Streak and raced TT scrambles and flat track for three years. I owned a couple of bikes after that, both enduro and street bikes but when I got out of the service and got married sold them all and basically went about 20 years without doing any significant riding. My kids grew up, moved out and I got the itch to ride again. I bought the Nightster in June of this year, my first Harley. It's an 07 and it had 150 miles on it. That's right - 150 miles. According to the owner, he bought it from a dealer in 09 who stated the original owner bought it for his wife who quickly decided she didn't like it and sold it back to the dealer. The guy I bought it from brought it home, parked it and the next day rolled his car, broke his back and was laid up for over a year recovering. When I found it the bike had been sitting in an unheated barn since then. I looked it over pretty good, wary of the length of time it had been sitting idle. I