Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My 2013 XL883N to 1250 Conversion Story...

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2013, 07:17 PM
xhellionx
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Default My 2013 XL883N to 1250 Conversion Story...

sit back and relax, it's a long story...but hopefully my trials and tribulations will help others in the future with newer model conversions. i really don't expect anyone to actually read the whole thing, but typing it is therapeutic. :laugh

THE BACKGROUND:
i am 34yrs old from Reno, NV. grew up riding off-road bikes at my dad's house in MO but my experience on bikes was still limited in my opinion as i was very young and hadn't ridden in many many years. last year i passed the MSC with some friends and ended up buying a brand new 2013 XL883N with 8 miles on it. it took 2 weeks before i realized i needed more power. i have ZERO wrenching experience, i've literally never even changed my oil in a car. i owned no tools other than the little household box sets you get at Walmart. why i decided i can do a full 1250 conversion on my own, i'll never know...but if you read on, you'll see it all worked out in the end.

THE PARTS:
i did some research and some calling around but finally settled on Hammer for the conversion parts. all of the other companies i looked at seemed great as well so my choice was really just gut feeling i guess. i called Dan at Hammer and let him know what i was working with and what i wanted. i didn't want the upgraded heads and cams at this point, just the basic 1250 conversion. i also ordered a heavy-duty diaphragm spring too to help with clutch slippage with the added torque. finally, i settled on the Power Vision for tuning. I went with the basic at first, but upgraded to the Pro down the road...probably didn't need to as i will detail later.

THE CONVERSION PREP: