Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bassani Firepower Slip-ons For "72" part 1

Old 04-13-2014, 04:00 PM
Sweet72
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bassani Firepower Slip-ons For "72" part 1

I just want to share my thoughts on the install and performance of the 3" slash down Bassani Firepower slip-ons.Like a lot of guys I am new to the HD family and i'm learning as I go.I have a Lucky Green 2013 "72" sportster.So, i'll start with the install.Here are some hints:First remove the heat shields and then loosen the bolts on the clamp that joins the muffler and head pipe and scoot the clamp up onto the head pipe and immediatly put a liberal amount of WD-40 where the muffler joins the head pipe.Hold a rag behind the area you spray so you don't douse your wheel,tire and swingarm with lube.Then go put on Neil Young's 1991 live version of "Cortez the Killer", open a beer and start loosening bolts.Start with the ones under the muffler. After that loosen the ones that connect the head pipe to the engine.Loosen them just enough to give you a little movement because you have to get the pipe off of the crossover.If you are super new to this the crossover is what the mufflers are mounted to and basically connect the two mufflers together creating a kind of two into one pipe.The Bassani Firepower does not utilize the crossover feature.Do not freak out.All you're going to do is mount the mufflers.You do not have to plug the holes because the holes were connected to the stock mufflers and since the bassani doesn't have those holes you don't have anything to plug and now the crossover is just the mounting bracket.Ignore the holes.They now have nothing to do with the exhaust.Moving on.It is imperative that you put WD-40 or something similar on the muffler/headpipe connection.If you don't you are in for a battle and all I can say is good luck.I removed the first one in about t