DYNOJET Power Vision Headache - Page 3 - Harley Davidson Forums


The Dyno Room A special room dedicated for Dyno tuning products, troubleshooting and results. All Gearheads and Dyno Operators are welcome here as well as the guys that are new to tuning. Please see the special rules for this section before posting.

Power Vision Headache

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #21  
Old 04-19-2018, 12:03 PM
Gordon61 Gordon61 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 1,068
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
Default

FYI re tuning

what I did was let autotune do its thing while trying desperately hard to get as many cells as possible with 99 (at least 15) hits -but- I took a log at the same time (remember the button at the bottom of the hits screen)

Then I compared what autotune though the answer should be vs what putting it through MLV with some filters thought it should be. Any cells with 10 or less hits could be a bit off when compared to the overall smoothness of the VE table as a whole.

ADD: Unlike the super tuner instructions, I ran a few 80% and 100% throttle runs but only one at a time with some gentle riding in-between. Typically catching 20-30 hits in those columns before ending the autotune session.

Last edited by Gordon61; 04-19-2018 at 12:09 PM. Reason: Added
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-20-2018, 04:33 PM
Sully59's Avatar
Sully59 Sully59 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, here is my latest .csv file. I did it while doing an autotune run today.

It will be interesting to see what it shows.
Attached Files
File Type: csv log0001.csv (809.8 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-21-2018, 03:52 AM
Gordon61 Gordon61 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 1,068
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
Default

So a couple of things popped out for me (and please remember that I am just a DIY type like yourself, there are some very good Pros in here that may be able to help further)
  • Age and accuracy is something the Pros may be able to comment on if relevant but both O2 sensors seem to be switching fine.
  • If you put the log in MLV and try to build a VE table from the results, it looks as if there is a lot of data. However, if you apply the Transients filter a LOT of it disappears/is discounted.

    I think you maybe need to be smoother and more deliberate when collecting autotune data. I collect purposeful data rather than just riding around, if you get what I mean. I hold the throttle at a set position from 1500 (or as low as it is happy) up through the revs - that would populate a whole column and 4 or 5 times for each position gets you some good data. (note: column in a TPS VE table or diagonal in a MAP VE table - i'd have to look up what an 09 Ultra map looks like)

  • In general, the tables don't actually seem to be too far out (but you need more/better data)
  • Oh, and there is a touch of knock down towards the lugging area but that may go away when you run normally rather than in autotune mode - something to check out later.

I hope that helps

Last edited by Gordon61; 04-21-2018 at 03:53 AM. Reason: Tidied
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-21-2018, 08:31 AM
Sully59's Avatar
Sully59 Sully59 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's encouraging news. That log file was done while riding in traffic so I'll have to find a stretch of highway were I can do different throttle setting runs.

Do you think the MAP:L and VE:+ errors were from auto tuning. When I noticed the VE:+ I did roll on the throttle easier (on previous auto tune runs). The one big mystery for me is the MAP:L any ideas as to what causes that and is it like a carbureted vehicle where a low manifold vacuum is a bad thing (on a stock motor).

Once again, thanks for your help,

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:03 AM
Gordon61 Gordon61 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 1,068
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
Default

The VE+ is simply that the VE values are changing too quickly for the closed-loop or more significantly, the auto tune process to keep up. Nothing to worry about, just the way it works - any error conditions on the display is simply the autotune process is not collecting data because of whatever.

The MAP L error is simply that the current MAP reading is lower than the autotune threshold, so no data is considered during that time. Thing is, on a heavy overrun the EFI can cut the fuel ...so there is no point looking at O2 readings and calculating anything.

if you look at the default autotune settings, they basically tell you when the autotune process will take and consider data ...or when it pops up a temporary error (think of them as conditions, rather than errors)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-21-2018, 12:58 PM
Sully59's Avatar
Sully59 Sully59 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OK. i guess until I understand tuning FI I'll just let auto-tune do it's thing. The bike does run excellent so I think unless some professional tuner looks at the log file and makes recommendations we'll call it good. Thanks Gordon you've been extremely helpful
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-21-2018, 01:26 PM
Gordon61 Gordon61 is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Edinburgh UK
Posts: 1,068
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
Default

you said you had just put a stage 1 air filter on it

If the previous one was the fully stock, fully enclosed filter element you couldn't get your fingers into, then you may want to concentrate an autotune at higher throttle positions and let the bike run up to 5000 or so to see if there is much change...

The easiest way to do that is to get some red cells across the rev range over towards the right hand side of the hits screen - then - starting on the hits screen, click through the different modes until you see the LCORF and LCORR screens which show you the plus or minus changes in learned cells ...0, 1, 2, 3's are pretty much no change ...8 and above is telling you it probably needs tuned so put some decent effort into some autotuning.

Have a look
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-21-2018, 01:58 PM
Sully59's Avatar
Sully59 Sully59 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm hopefully going to get into that today. Great way to learn. I'm more of a "hands on" kinda guy but I guess I'll have to read a lot more than just the basics.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.