Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

20K Maintenance turns into 2K job

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2015, 09:23 AM
RADMOND
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 20K Maintenance turns into 2K job

I have a 2005 RK Custom that I purchased in Nov 2011 with 3500 miles and I usually to my own 5K Oil changes but at the 20K mark I decided to take it to the dealership and get it looked over by someone that knows what they were doing. I am OK with basic but I’m no mechanic.

Turns out I had some serious issues going on.

Original work I wanted: Around $700

20K service: $311.92, not too bad for what they are doing.
New hand grips $90 – Installed for $20, an easy job but for $20 let them do the work
Dealer found I was missing Anti-Rattle Clutch Clip - $3 for the clip installed for free.
Front Tire - $175 installed for free since I was doing the service.
Brake Flush – Bikes 10 years old and I bet it has never been done - $83

Now I get the call. Jack from the HD dealership. We have some issues, he starts going over what they found and I will admit at first I was thinking what we all start thinking, really? Are they trying to take me? But as we start talking he goes over everything then he says, look I know this is a lot of money, you need to talk with your wife and I want you guys to come done so I can show you everything before you make any decisions.

So, I call my wife and asked if she could get off work early and after I told her what was going on she said you bet.

This what he shows us:
Rear Brakes and Break Rotor. I just had the rear tire and breaks replaced about a year ago (at a different place) and the brakes were worn down almost to the metal and the rotor is pitted and warped. $275

Primary Leak. He also showed us where the leaks were coming from. $438