Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

J&M rocker extreme review

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2015, 07:46 PM
LJScreamer55
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default J&M rocker extreme review

I want to start by admitting that I am not an audio expert nor did I use any fancy equipment to measure the audio signal. Rather this is just a description of my experience in hopes that it helps someone else.

After visiting a new Harley Dealership and experimenting with their Boom Audio State II demo board, I decided I wanted something better than the stock audio on my 2014 Ultra Limited. However I did not want to pay the $1800.00 plus installation for the Harley setup.

I did a lot of researching on web sites like this and at times was totally confused. Many said, “J&M sounds great”. Others said, “You can do better for your money than J&M”. Some claimed, “I have spend lots on J&M and am very unhappy.” Others praised Biketronics.

For better or worse I decided to go with the J&M rokker Extreme kit because I wanted a plug and play kit that I could install myself. I.E. I did not want to cut into the factory harnesses. I ordered the kit which took about 10 days to arrive.

My first impressions were that the amplifier and harness were well-made. The harnesses all had shrink tubing and the metal bracket used to mount the amplifier did not have any rough edges. However I found the installation documentation confusing. In the wiring drawing, not all of the connectors on the J&M harness were shown. Nor was the drawing noted that the input side connectors were not shown. The connectors for the fairing speakers were not marked right or left.

In addition, there was not a single set of instructions. Rather the amplifier had instructions, the fairing speakers had instructions, and the rear speakers had instructions.