Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Touring Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/touring-models-11/)
-   -   How high can I go? (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/touring-models/1055498-how-high-can-i-go.html)

phludder 06-24-2015 12:20 PM

How high can I go?

Hello all, I'm new to Harley ownership, I have a barebones 2001 FLHT... I'm 6'4 and did just over a thousand miles and I can't turn my head for the pain in my shoulders. I have buddies with varying heights of bars and it feels much more comfortable than me reaching down for mine. My question is how high can i go without having to change all my cables and wires?

Thanks

Keithhu 06-24-2015 12:27 PM

Originally Posted by phludder (Post 14146086)
Hello all, I'm new to Harley ownership, I have a barebones 2001 FLHT... I'm 6'4 and did just over a thousand miles and I can't turn my head for the pain in my shoulders. I have buddies with varying heights of bars and it feels much more comfortable than me reaching down for mine. My question is how high can i go without having to change all my cables and wires?

Thanks

Look, you're 6-4. Dont let cable length determine long term comfort.

Buy the most comfortable bars you can find, and the cables/wires that fit.

I'm 5-10 and I found 14" bars to be most comfortable. You'd likely be at least that tall, and you'll need to buy cables.

decencyxdefied 06-24-2015 12:43 PM

U might be able to get an extra 2" maybe, you have the push pull set up so if u wanted to see exactly how much slack you have just remove one of the cables and see what ya got.. But it would be a waste of ur time for such a minimal difference. I'm 6 even and have 14s and I could easily go 16 and be comfortable

KCFLHRC 06-24-2015 01:08 PM

One thing to consider, it may not be the bars. More than likely your posture while on the bike. A driver backrest can do wonders for this. It forces you to sit upright instead of all hunched over. It worked for me anyway.