Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Time Required to Remove & Replace Fork Tubes

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2016, 10:28 AM
Z
Road Warrior
Received 81 Likes on 71 Posts
Default Time Required to Remove & Replace Fork Tubes

Hey folks, in the next few days I'll be installing Progressive Mono-tubes on my 2000 FLHTCUI Ultra and I'm wondering how much time I should set aside for the task, soup to nuts.

I'm not looking for how fast YOU can do it, I'd like to know how much time a person who's following the shop manual step by step should set aside for the task.

I'm a contractor and time is tight, so I need to build into my schedule enough time to get the task done, but I don't want to go down the path of "a full day" off the books unless I really need it (which, frankly, I suspect I will, but who knows? Maybe it's easier than I think.

Thanks all!

Old 03-04-2016, 10:41 AM
Hate Work
Road Warrior
Received 158 Likes on 138 Posts

I had never done the swap before. I do own a stand, vise, work bench plus had bought the fluids, seals and proper wrench to remove the forks....
The first time I did the install with (2) clips, it took me almost 4 hours, as I took my time. Once I realized I hated to stiffness of the (2) clips, I took the faring back off, removed the forks again and removed one clip. Did it the second time in under two hours. I am very happy with the monotubes as they match my adjustable rear shocks nicely. Good luck.

Old 03-04-2016, 10:47 AM
Z
Road Warrior

I couldn't have asked for a better reply; that's exactly what I needed to hear. Thanks!

Now... about that proper wrench??? lol... (does it ever end, buying a special tool for Harleys?) Can you tell me more about this wrench and any other gotchas I might run into? I really appreciate it.