Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Clutch Lever Won't Move After Clutch Adjustment

Old 05-02-2017, 05:35 PM
blcarizona
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch Lever Won't Move After Clutch Adjustment

All,
Well, my old favorite Jimmy Buffet quote, "I'm seldom right but I've never been wrong" is failing me today. I have read every string on this topic I could find today, tried every suggestion at least a dozen times with no resolve. I'm no expert mechanic by any measure but thought I would (and could) make a simple clutch adjustment to an otherwise newly purchased perfectly running 2000 Road King. Adjusted only because I wanted the clutch to engage sooner than the 85% release point I was getting.

My problem is now the clutch lever will not move. I mean, not at all like the other end is tied to a steel pole with all the tension taken out. And there is no sign of movement in the clutch basket area.

I'm hoping someone can offer a solution or it will be "hat in hand" for me at the Harley Shop tomorrow. (I really hate to do that!) As background, here's the steps and probably mis-steps I've taken to adjust, readjust and ultimately try to solve the issue.

1. First, took tension off of clutch cable, however, the best I could do was about half depression of the lever as there was no further travel available.
2. Broke the lock nut at the clutch basket and moved the adjusting screw in and out a few times (at which point, the tension in the clutch cable totally released). Did the clockwise adjustment until pressure point and then backed off a little more than 1/2 turn and locked all down.
3. Closed the derby cover, adjusted the cable to the recommended 1/8" gap and thought I was done. This is when I pulled the lever in and no movement at all. Tried 2 and 3 above at least a dozen times with no success.