Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CB Radios & HD touring bikes

Old 09-08-2017, 12:36 PM
Doc Intrepid
Road Master
Location: In the Pacific Northwest, a few hours east of Seattle.
Received 27 Likes on 16 Posts
Default CB Radios & HD touring bikes

I purchased a 2017 FLTRXS not realizing the CB radio wasn't installed. I'm trying to decide whether it's worth the cost to install CB. Part of the decision involves being informed that only the H-D CB module will fit in the fairing. No other CB radio option is (apparently) available other than the H-D CB.

My other bikes were Road Kings - I have no experience with CB on bikes. Can anyone with experience using CBs on HD touring bikes offer any information regarding how effective the H-D CB is; and/or what my other CB radio options may be? Thanks!

Last edited by Doc Intrepid; 09-08-2017 at 01:54 PM.
Old 09-08-2017, 02:56 PM
Talldog
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 45 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by Doc Intrepid
I purchased a 2017 FLTRXS not realizing the CB radio wasn't installed. I'm trying to decide whether it's worth the cost to install CB. Part of the decision involves being informed that only the H-D CB module will fit in the fairing. No other CB radio option is (apparently) available other than the H-D CB.

My other bikes were Road Kings - I have no experience with CB on bikes. Can anyone with experience using CBs on HD touring bikes offer any information regarding how effective the H-D CB is; and/or what my other CB radio options may be? Thanks!

Really up to you, lots of guys have CB's and never use them. I organize and lead a few large benefit rides each year and having a CB really helps keep in contact with my fellow Road Captains.

Old 09-08-2017, 02:57 PM
VinceTheArchitect
Tourer
Received 73 Likes on 62 Posts