Go Back  Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Reload this Page >

INNOVV C5 or K2 dash cameras

Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

INNOVV C5 or K2 dash cameras

 
  #1  
Old 08-22-2018, 11:43 AM
rfulford's Avatar
rfulford
rfulford is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rural East Texas area...Elkhart, Texas
Posts: 91
Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts
Default INNOVV C5 or K2 dash cameras

I am considering putting a DVR type front and rear facing camera system on my 2011 Harley Ultra Limited. I have looked a the GO Pro systems and don't really like where they mount for security reasons and lack or recording time and power source. I have done a little research and found a company called INNOVV that makes a two camera system K2 and an single camera system C5. Does anyone on the forum have these in use on a Harley Davidson? If so, would you recommend either of them? They are a little pricey, but if it worked, it would seem to be a good setup. They are water proof.
Does anyone else know of something better, than the Go Pro systems with their limitations?

Thanks.

 
  #2  
Old 08-23-2018, 11:48 AM
rfulford's Avatar
rfulford
rfulford is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rural East Texas area...Elkhart, Texas
Posts: 91
Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts
Default

I sent a message to INNOVV about their cameras and they responded with answers to my questions about both models. I looked at their blog and comments section and it seems like there must be a lot of dissatisfied customers with them reporting problems and gliches, so I may sort of shy away from this. I posted on the Police Network I am a member of and it seems that most departments that have had camera systems are going away from them due to battery load problems and cost of camera equipment. Kustom Signals makes a setup that some of them used. I was told Segway has a camera system but haven't had time to research it yet. The search continues...
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-2018, 06:23 PM
AFSOC_Commando's Avatar
AFSOC_Commando
AFSOC_Commando is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 317
Thanked 75 Times in 50 Posts
Default

I have the INNOVV K2 mounted on my FLHTKL with a 128GB Msd card. I get about 10 hours of video before it over writes.

The complaints may be from the original K1 model which I had that never worked right for me due to heat sensitivity.

My K2 setup draws no power, does not effect the alarm and I have had zero issues since Installed! I have used it for just over 4 weeks now through horrible rains and very hot weather and no issues what so ever! It took longer to install and decide where to place everything then I was expecting but there was more then enough cable length to run the rear cam in the cable tray under the tank.

I like you wanted a dual dash cam and researched my butt off, the K2 is the ONLY real solution I could find that was powered off the bike and 1080P. I do get a little rear red washout at night due to the trunk light but you can't read plates or see much to the rear in the dark. The front works fine both day and night.
 
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to AFSOC_Commando For This Useful Post:
hbsoldier3 (08-24-2018), jammerx (09-09-2018), rfulford (08-24-2018), VinceTheArchitect (08-24-2018), Zedbra (08-26-2018)
  #4  
Old 08-24-2018, 10:30 AM
VinceTheArchitect's Avatar
VinceTheArchitect
VinceTheArchitect is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Charm City, Baby!
Posts: 427
Thanked 68 Times in 57 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by AFSOC_Commando View Post
I have the INNOVV K2 mounted on my FLHTKL with a 128GB Msd card. I get about 10 hours of video before it over writes.

The complaints may be from the original K1 model which I had that never worked right for me due to heat sensitivity.

My K2 setup draws no power, does not effect the alarm and I have had zero issues since Installed! I have used it for just over 4 weeks now through horrible rains and very hot weather and no issues what so ever! It took longer to install and decide where to place everything then I was expecting but there was more then enough cable length to run the rear cam in the cable tray under the tank.

I like you wanted a dual dash cam and researched my butt off, the K2 is the ONLY real solution I could find that was powered off the bike and 1080P. I do get a little rear red washout at night due to the trunk light but you can't read plates or see much to the rear in the dark. The front works fine both day and night.
I have been thinking about the same thing for my Ultra Classic. Do you have some installation/installed photos you could share?
Thanks!
 
The Following User Says Thank You to VinceTheArchitect For This Useful Post:
hbsoldier3 (08-24-2018)
  #5  
Old 08-24-2018, 10:59 AM
hbsoldier3's Avatar
hbsoldier3
hbsoldier3 is offline
Club Member
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bear Flag, lower end
Posts: 4,194
Thanked 657 Times in 534 Posts
Default

Once again, my wallet is gonna get thinner.
 
  #6  
Old 08-24-2018, 01:02 PM
rfulford's Avatar
rfulford
rfulford is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rural East Texas area...Elkhart, Texas
Posts: 91
Thanked 20 Times in 13 Posts
Default

AFSOC Commando, where did you mount the DVR? I was thinking about mounting mine in the trunk if that's the way I go. Didn't know if there would be enough cable to run it to the front camera. Do you have any photos of where you mounted the cameras and the DVR? Did you have to make a mount for the rear camera? Seems like the front camera could be mounted on the underside of the front fairing with 3M tape.
 
  #7  
Old 08-25-2018, 05:21 PM
AFSOC_Commando's Avatar
AFSOC_Commando
AFSOC_Commando is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 317
Thanked 75 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rfulford View Post
AFSOC Commando, where did you mount the DVR? I was thinking about mounting mine in the trunk if that's the way I go. Didn't know if there would be enough cable to run it to the front camera. Do you have any photos of where you mounted the cameras and the DVR? Did you have to make a mount for the rear camera? Seems like the front camera could be mounted on the underside of the front fairing with 3M tape.
I will be happy to take some pictures and post them.

I did place the DVR unit in the dash with the existing USB cable, I just removed the foam. The front and rear camera are exactly the same, the cable length is the only difference. You can you the rear camera in the front and run the cable back to the trunk if you wish. As to mounting I used the provided elbow to mount the camera under the trunk using one of the trunk mounting plate bolts. I actually drilled a hole in the chrome plastic piece under the fairing and mounted a RAM mount ball and used a stubby Ram arm to get the camera in front of any of the front vehicle lights. The 1/4-20 Ram Mount screws right into the camera mount.

I did screw up and mount the camera using the l bracket under the fairing and dented the front fender when I hit a pot hole and the fender slammed into the camera mount. Expensive mistake.

Give me a day or so to take the pictures and edit them so they can get posted up.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to AFSOC_Commando For This Useful Post:
rfulford (08-26-2018)
  #8  
Old 08-26-2018, 10:38 AM
Zedbra's Avatar
Zedbra
Zedbra is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Squamish, BC
Posts: 201
Thanked 61 Times in 40 Posts
Default

^ I'm interested to see the install pics. I have cameras in all of my vehicles and am now wanting to look at a dual camera system for my bike.
 
  #9  
Old 08-28-2018, 01:11 AM
AFSOC_Commando's Avatar
AFSOC_Commando
AFSOC_Commando is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 317
Thanked 75 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Ok, ignore the dirt. I ride a lot and just did a 1000 miles last weekend and haven't washed the bike yet. I am also currently uploading video samples for day and night front and rear so you can get an idea of quality. I am using it more for safety then anything else but it does take some damn nice video I think. I may need to turn off the logging of speed in case I need to use the video to defend myself though! LOL



Used the RAM mount


DVR is in the Dash. Had to drill a hole for the cabling but I don't take the DVR out.


As you can see a straight on view of the camera.


Rear Cam, it does get washed out at night due to the trunk LEDS. I may use a RAM mount here as well to get it past the LEDS. But you really can't tell much about the vehicles behind you at night anyway due to the Headlight washout.


Rear Camera mounted using the L bracket that is included from the rear trunk mount bolt.


Side view of the front camera and the RAM mount.
 
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to AFSOC_Commando For This Useful Post:
lp (08-28-2018), rfulford (08-28-2018), ve9aa (09-08-2018), VinceTheArchitect (08-28-2018), Zedbra (08-28-2018)
  #10  
Old 08-28-2018, 01:26 AM
AFSOC_Commando's Avatar
AFSOC_Commando
AFSOC_Commando is online now
Club Member
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Posts: 317
Thanked 75 Times in 50 Posts
Default

Here is a link to a daytime front cam video.... The rest will be done tomorrow when I wake up....


 
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AFSOC_Commando For This Useful Post:
jammerx (09-09-2018), rfulford (08-28-2018)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: