Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

18 Road King and the Tach Nazi

 
  #31  
Old 01-06-2019, 08:45 PM
riotron
riotron is offline
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: woodbridge, va
Posts: 66
Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

In case anyone is interested, there is a Low Rider tach on ebay that has a beat up bezel for ~$44, pretty cheap if someone wants to play with this..... eBay item number: 254033855572
 
  #32  
Old 01-06-2019, 09:00 PM
Haarley
Haarley is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 442
Received 138 Likes on 85 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by billyo00769 View Post
PS. Please.No old guys telling me to listen to my engine.
That is a spectacularly bad bit of advice.
Good luck. Post pics if it works.

 
  #33  
Old 01-07-2019, 01:13 PM
Vonswanko
Vonswanko is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 665
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by riotron View Post
In case anyone is interested, there is a Low Rider tach on ebay that has a beat up bezel for ~$44, pretty cheap if someone wants to play with this..... eBay item number: 254033855572
Thanks! I scooped it up
 
  #34  
Old 01-11-2019, 11:59 PM
billyo00769
billyo00769 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 5 inch police tach

In case you didn't see the other rk tachometer post:
it's also interesting to note that the police tach has no indicator lights (neutral, etc.)
AND the LCD gear position readout changes from: Gear number/RPM value- to the word GEAR 1, GEAR 2, etc. losing the RPM readout on the LCD.


 
The following users liked this post:
6113_ (01-12-2019)
  #35  
Old 01-12-2019, 08:21 AM
6113_'s Avatar
6113_
6113_ is offline
Supporter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: 36.427548 & -86.804720 or thereabout
Posts: 2,455
Received 1,147 Likes on 619 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by billyo00769 View Post
In case you didn't see the other rk tachometer post:
it's also interesting to note that the police tach has no indicator lights (neutral, etc.)
AND the LCD gear position readout changes from: Gear number/RPM value- to the word GEAR 1, GEAR 2, etc. losing the RPM readout on the LCD.
maybe I misread the other post but I thought you cut the wires that provided that signal to the speedo/tach to send to the Police tach
 
  #36  
Old 01-14-2019, 09:29 AM
Kacowboy's Avatar
Kacowboy
Kacowboy is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Not Virginia
Posts: 201
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Well the police Tach is supposed to replace your factory speedo and you install the police speedo above the handle bars. The police speedo also has all the lights in it. The reason the police speedo is up higher is so they can just glance down at it instead of moving your head down to see it.
 
  #37  
Old 01-15-2019, 05:19 PM
billyo00769
billyo00769 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Finally Finished 2018 RK


Completed 2018 RK
 
  #38  
Old 01-15-2019, 05:40 PM
TriGeezer's Avatar
TriGeezer
TriGeezer is offline
Supporter
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Posts: 13,740
Received 3,499 Likes on 1,977 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by TheGrandPoohBah View Post
Tach in my HD Speedometer Unit works fine for me.
Put that HD combo speedometer on my 17 RoadKing and was happy with it. Much better than the digital LCD...not as good as a dedicated Tach.
 
  #39  
Old 01-16-2019, 07:55 AM
Kacowboy's Avatar
Kacowboy
Kacowboy is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Not Virginia
Posts: 201
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Here is what the RK police setup looks like I am still thinking about doing this to me 2014.


 
  #40  
Old 03-18-2019, 05:31 PM
billyo00769
billyo00769 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

The dealer said the U0157 error code is from the 2 devices (tach/ speedometer) not communicating with each other.
When you wire in a Harley tach (even with proper harness wires and connectors) to the standard RK, the tach takes the rpm data and the speedometer isn't communicating with the tach properly (sharing data). Intermittently, the tach begins with the correct rpm but eventually the tach starts reading and projecting rpm data improperly.

If I could figure out how Max Headflow got his audrino code onto his road king, the devices would (share?) display the same rpm data.

If you look a Max's tach pictures, you can see that the speedhut tachometer and the LCD display show the same rpm.

When we (Me, riotron and others) hook up a tach without the communication software, the LCD display only shows the gear position with no rpm. The 2 devices aren't communicating with each other.

What's weird is that the police Road King has the extra software for the 2 devices to communicate, but the dealer in my area plays dumb and says they can't do anything for me.
I guess I'm stuck.
 
 


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: