Go Back  Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Touring Models
Reload this Page >

18 Road King and the Tach Nazi

Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

18 Road King and the Tach Nazi

 
  #1  
Old 11-12-2018, 11:51 AM
billyo00769
billyo00769 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default 18 Road King and the Tach ****

You want a handlebar tachometer on your 2017, 2018 or 2019 Road King so you don't have to take your eyes off the road or look down 250 times a day at a stupid little LCD screen???
Harley says:
NO TACH FOR YOU!

The police bikes and other touring bikes of the same year with the same engine have separate speedo/tachs. The RK has a gear/tach readout, but Harley service personnel say it "can't be done with the current BCU/ECU setup".
Really??
There is a member on this site (MaxHeadflow) who has figured it out (Can Bus). But he is basically an engineer with instructions that are too complicated for me to understand.
He also says that a coil driven tach will work connecting it to the "primary coil wire with a 1K ohm resistor in series with the tach".
Huh?
I'm just a dumb**s who wants a handlebar tachometer, I guess.
Sounds like I'm going to mess up a $30,000 Road King if I try it.

Someone please figure this out. I'm about to offer MaxHeadflow $1000 for a F***ing tachometer.
"Get this tach. Splice into this wire. Enjoy your handlebar tachometer." 1.2.3 done.

PS. Please.No old guys telling me to listen to my engine.
1 .Knowing what gear you are in and RPM is important when you are on mountain roads steep grades and cliffs on both sides.
2. Engine sounds different at the same RPM going uphill vs. downhill.
3. When you are riding 8 hours a day across the country your neck and eyes are sore from looking down and squinting at this little LCD screen taking your eyes off the road.
4.When riding hard, knowing the RPM is important.

Thousands of people on this site. Come on!

 
The Following User Says Thank You to billyo00769 For This Useful Post:
Kingglide549 (11-20-2018)
  #2  
Old 11-12-2018, 12:01 PM
702's Avatar
702
702 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 241
Thanked 42 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by billyo00769 View Post
PS. Please.No old guys telling me to listen to my engine.
This made me giggle.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:02 PM
jimglassford
jimglassford is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Manchester, MI
Posts: 104
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Do you have a link to the instructions you mentioned from MaxHeadflow?

I have a 2011 RKC and the Nacelle mounted tach in the billet frame was the first upgrade. Very few people wanted to pay the $500 for the parts to put this tach on their Road Kings so Harley stopped supplying them. The masses chose the goofy little tach in the speedometer instead.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:03 PM
6113_'s Avatar
6113_
6113_ is offline
Supporter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: 36.427548 & -86.804720 or thereabout
Posts: 2,216
Thanked 1,018 Times in 542 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jimglassford View Post
Do you have a link to the instructions you mentioned from MaxHeadflow?

I have a 2011 RKC and the Nacelle mounted tach in the billet frame was the first upgrade. Very few people wanted to pay the $500 for the parts to put this tach on their Road Kings so Harley stopped supplying them. The masses chose the goofy little tach in the speedometer instead.
https://www.hdforums.com/forum/milwa...o-a-m8-rk.html
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:20 PM
ORradtech
ORradtech is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 324 Times in 292 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by billyo00769 View Post
If you cannot follow those instructions

He also says that a coil driven tach will work connecting it to the "primary coil wire with a 1K ohm resistor in series with the tach".

Then I doubt this will help.

"Get this tach. Splice into this wire. Enjoy your handlebar tachometer." 1.2.3 done.

PS. Please.No old guys telling me to listen to my engine.

Can young guys tell you this???


1 .Knowing what gear you are in and RPM is important
4.When riding hard, knowing the RPM is important.
I, and probably a bunch of others, must be riding savants cause I spent a lot of years riding bikes that didn't even have a tach... ​​​​​​​
 
The Following User Says Thank You to ORradtech For This Useful Post:
LexM (11-12-2018)
  #6  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:35 PM
TheGrandPoohBah's Avatar
TheGrandPoohBah
TheGrandPoohBah is offline
Extreme HDF Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mountain Top, Alabama
Posts: 14,071
Thanked 1,969 Times in 1,162 Posts
Default

Tach in my HD Speedometer Unit works fine for me.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to TheGrandPoohBah For This Useful Post:
Redlegvzv (11-13-2018)
  #7  
Old 11-12-2018, 01:53 PM
Ex-Leftcoaster
Ex-Leftcoaster is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 514
Thanked 71 Times in 66 Posts
Default

If you want something less permanent, you could always use an app called RPMitUp. It's a phone app used with a WiFi ODB/OBD II scanner plugged into the bike. Use the app as a tach, tach and speedo, as well as other data like engine temp, gear indicator, etc. Just mount your phone on the bars and you're set.
 

Last edited by Ex-Leftcoaster; 11-12-2018 at 01:55 PM.
  #8  
Old 11-12-2018, 02:06 PM
billyo00769
billyo00769 is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Here is the link to maxheadflow's RK tach.
It is a beautiful piece of engineering. He is an amazing engineer who humbles himself by calling himself "more of a hack".


https://www.hdforums.com/forum/milwa...o-a-m8-rk.html
 
The Following User Says Thank You to billyo00769 For This Useful Post:
Kingglide549 (11-20-2018)
  #9  
Old 11-13-2018, 03:03 AM
EdwardK's Avatar
EdwardK
EdwardK is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,428
Thanked 124 Times in 102 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by billyo00769 View Post

PS. Please.No old guys telling me to listen to my engine.
1 .Knowing what gear you are in and RPM is important when you are on mountain roads steep grades and cliffs on both sides.
2. Engine sounds different at the same RPM going uphill vs. downhill.
3. When you are riding 8 hours a day across the country your neck and eyes are sore from looking down and squinting at this little LCD screen taking your eyes off the road.
4.When riding hard, knowing the RPM is important.
1. If you are on a mountain road with steep grades and cliffs, the last thing you want to do is look down at a tach. Look at the road.
2. Feels different too.
3. if your riding cross country, it's called cruise control. The RPM's don't change, much.
4. When you hit the rev limiter, you have gone to far.

After 130,000 miles on my Road King, yes, there have been a few times I was curious about the RPM's but it wouldn't have changed what gear I was in knowing it. I also have over 60,000 miles on my ultras and the only time I have looked at the tach is out of boredom. If I am riding aggressively, the last thing I am going to do is take my eyes off the road.

I admire your quest to get some thing you want. FYI - You don't have an oil pressure gauge on the Road King. OMG! How do you live without that?

 
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EdwardK For This Useful Post:
bgup619 (12-17-2018), TKDKurt (11-13-2018)
  #10  
Old 11-13-2018, 06:42 AM
Vonswanko
Vonswanko is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 640
Thanked 26 Times in 21 Posts
Default

I’m using a Power Vision mounted to my bars right now as the heads up tach and speedo, but I’m going to look into using either a Roadglide or Dyna Dual guage set up next.

The 2019 Road King Police edition has the speedo on the bars and a tach in the dash. I’m going to look into that set up for the wiring diagram.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: