Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ohlins -- both F+R on my 16 SG

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2018, 12:03 PM
dbdicker
Advanced
Received 15 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Ohlins -- both F+R on my 16 SG

After taking delivery of my (new to me) used 16 Street Glide, I quickly decided to do something with the suspension. It would bottom everywhere and the front forks bounced up and down like they were made of spaghetti. I'm new to Harley, but I've done suspension to just about every other bike I've had, mostly BMW's -- they almost all benefit incredibly from it, and I like to ride hard.

But no more than on this bike.

This upgrade isn't for everyone -- you should only do this upgrade if you like riding motorcycles.

I cannot tell you how transformative these suspension mods have been to the bike. The pieces I used are the HD772 blackline rear shocks at 13" and the FKS212 cartridge kits, both with custom springs for my (not very) svelte weight. I know that Legends has made a reputation for Harley aftermarket suspension, but I've had nothing but success with Ohlins before and I guess you go with what you know. I couldn't be happier.

It soaks up everything -- potholes that used to jar my teeth are just eaten up without drama. The bike handles like on rails, turning into corners confidently and controllably planting into the pavement when on the gas hard. The connection between your bike, the tires and the pavement is all about the suspension -- and now the bike accelerates and brakes better too. Its a real motorcycle now.