Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anybody Store The Bike All Winter With Battery Still In And No Trickle Charger?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2019, 07:54 PM
Geezr Glidr
Grand HDF Member
Received 258 Likes on 126 Posts
Default Anybody Store The Bike All Winter With Battery Still In And No Trickle Charger?

Since I started riding 15 years ago, I always kept bikes at a relative's barn. Real nice, clean foyer, out of the weather, but unheated. Had electricity so a trickle charger was never an issue. Well the place has been sold, and I found a storage unit with a paved lot, and I can ride right into it. It's perfect. No electricity though. I have a trickle charger pigtail, but don't wanna take the battery out for winter storage. Probably not a problem now that we're closer to spring, but just wondering if anybody stores all winter, leaves the battery in, never fires it up unless going for a ride, and doesn't have a trickle charger. Any problem firing it up in the spring? Now have a 2016 Limited Ultra.

The following users liked this post:
talkingrock (02-07-2019)
Old 02-07-2019, 07:58 PM
jonnycando
Tourer
Received 100 Likes on 78 Posts

Wouldn't work for me...I keep bikes in garage...but there's no heat unless I am in there.....and then back off when I leave. Bikes, and lawn equipment, everything with a battery has a battery tender on it.

Old 02-07-2019, 08:00 PM
Fullbore55
Grand HDF Member
Received 2,632 Likes on 1,226 Posts

If strong (newish with good charge) should last several months if not too much scavenge load.
My bike and buddy’s bike spent long MN winter like that. Mine came thru fine starting easy in spring, but not so for buddy’s bike. Neither had security and other scavenging loads.

Old 02-07-2019, 08:04 PM
predatornut
Tourer
Received 108 Likes on 75 Posts