Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Garage door opener.

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2019, 08:07 PM
mmaniaci
Stage III
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garage door opener.

Help !!! I have a new liftmaster garage door opener. I have a 2016 ultra cvo. I can’t get it to operate. I can hear the Harley control “clicking” ( the unit that plugs up to outlet by opener. Hooked up to back of opener. But it doesn’t respond when clicking headlights. If anyone can help me out that would be great. I know others have had to run into this problem. The liftmaster I have also is one that you can operate with a phone. “Q”. Something like that. Not into that. But if someone knows what I’m doing wrong please let me know. Hear is my email. mikemaniaci5@gmail.com Thanks ahead.......Dago

Old 02-13-2019, 10:31 PM
cmhdwg09
Road Captain
Received 192 Likes on 113 Posts

I have 5 of those. Only the very latest in remote control technology works. You have now officially out punted your coverage.

seriously, there are adapters that will bridge the technology gap, but that’s just more $$ invested.

Old 02-14-2019, 07:14 AM
MotoJockey
Stellar HDF Member

Received 3,074 Likes on 1,261 Posts

Had the same problem with a new Chamberlain door opener I bought a few months ago. Called HD Tech Support as well as Chamberlain Tech Support and they both told me, at that time, there was no adapter/interface to take a basic set of dry contacts and make it work with their "Smart" type opener. I tossed one remote in the windshield of the '03 RKC and Velcro'd the other to the inside top of my right saddlebag lid on the '14 SGS. I'll leave the HD opener transmitter in the fairing for now and wait for the interface to be developed. Meanwhile, I'm ok with the workaround I have. It's still better then getting off the bike to open the garage door!