Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: Buy it !!!
Yes
73.47%
No
26.53%
Voters: 49. You may not vote on this poll

Rebuild Electra glide 1984 worth it

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2019, 05:06 AM
fatchoppers
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Rebuild Electra glide 1984 worth it

Good morning all,

I have an opportunity to pick up a 1984 Electraglide from a friend for $1000 and deciding is it worth my money, So please chime in your thoughts. Although im not a mechanic i have experience wrenching and do my own work on my bikes.

heres what i know

1984 1340
5speed with Super B carb
needs tranny rebuild
motor was running but bike sat in a shed for 15 years
i really dont want to split cases
needs paint and lots of powder coating
needs tires
would prob do upper motor rebuild
my goal would be to ride the bike if i like it........ or sell it .........but of course im not looking to put 10000 into a bike thats worth 5000

feel free to give your opinions

bottom line is 1000 bucks really a deal

Old 04-19-2019, 05:39 AM
RK_Classic
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,537 Likes on 2,505 Posts

For a grand I would just for the project, The shovelhead gyus will tell you what your up against, these guys really know their stuff.

https://www.hdforums.com/forum/shovelhead-62/

rk classic.

Old 04-19-2019, 06:39 AM
fatchoppers
Advanced
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by RK_Classic
For a grand I would just for the project, The shovelhead gyus will tell you what your up against, these guys really know their stuff.

https://www.hdforums.com/forum/shovelhead-62/

rk classic.
its an Evo not a shovel by the way. But I’d love to hear from the shovel guys too!

Old 04-19-2019, 06:45 AM
heavymetalthunder
Grand HDF Member
Received 540 Likes on 395 Posts