Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'06 Ultra Fuel Filter Replacement How-To w/ Pics

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2009, 01:59 AM
MR VTX
Intermediate
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default '06 Ultra Fuel Filter Replacement How-To w/ Pics

I changed out my wife's fuel filter on her '06 UC today, and I decided to document the procedure. I ride a VTX1300 and usually do these how-tos over on our chat board, so I figured I'd help some people out over here, too. The process took longer for me since I've never worked on a Harley before...other than the oil changes and other minor stuff. Now that I know how to do it, next time it will go quicker for sure. I do these mainly to help those who don't have a service manual, but the extra pictures can help supplement the manual, too. Also, it's encouragement for those who might be afraid to try working on their own bikes.

If this is in the wrong spot, please move it to where it should go. I'm a noob!

Pages 9-19 & 9-20 in the '06 Service Manual are related to the fuel filter canister replacement.

Removal

1. Remove Console Pod/Canopy (pages 9-15 & 9-16)

a. Drain fuel tank as follows:
Obtain a short section of hose with a 5/16" I.D. Insert a bolt in one end and secure it with either a hose clamp or zip tie to ensure it's securely plugged. Cut the clamp from one end of the crossover tube beneath the fuel tank near the front of the bike using side cutters.

Remove the hose from the fuel inlet and quickly replace it with the short section of tubing that has the bolt in it. This will stop the fuel from completely emptying out of your tank. At the same time, there will be some gas that comes out of the crossover tube, so be prepared to catch it in a suitable container. Wipe up any gas that spills (and it will).