Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who is riding Touring Harley for the first time?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2018, 11:24 PM
CanadianRocky
Club Member
Received 20,108 Likes on 8,922 Posts

If I can make a suggestion...... get some cones and practice very slow tight figure 8’s. I have been riding for 50 years, and still do early in the season every year.

The following users liked this post:
Stud Duck (03-26-2018)
Old 03-12-2018, 05:24 AM
StoneTrekker
Stellar HDF Member
Received 1,849 Likes on 900 Posts

^^Agree^^

Some will surely not agree with me, but I've found the big baggers to be very unforgiving at slow speeds and tight maneuvers. It's obviously the weight and geometry thing but learning to ride a big touring H-D wasn't as easy for me as I imagined.

Old 03-12-2018, 05:34 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,852 Likes on 2,419 Posts
Cool

Originally Posted by Dillbilly Bone
Some will surely not agree with me, but I've found the big baggers to be very unforgiving at slow speeds and tight maneuvers. It's obviously the weight and geometry thing but learning to ride a big touring H-D wasn't as easy for me as I imagined.
I'm reminded of the first time Mrs B and I tried out a hired tandem bicycle! Shortly after we set off, wobbling like heck as I clung on tight up front, we were over-taken by a couple of young lasses on an identical bike, whizzing along at break-neck speed - or so it seemed to us. It's very difficult to relax and give the bike (tandem or dresser) the room to find itself, but it does come - honest!

Old 03-12-2018, 08:55 PM
BCene
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by CanadianRocky2
If I can make a suggestion...... get some cones and practice very slow tight figure 8’s. I have been riding for 50 years, and still do early in the season every year.