Harley Davidson Forums

Harley Davidson Forums (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/)
-   Touring Models (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/touring-models-11/)
-   -   95" Build - Disappointing (Help!!) (https://www.hdforums.com/forum/touring-models/55034-95-build-disappointing-help.html)

Alamo 09-04-2006 02:14 AM

95" Build - Disappointing (Help!!)

I just completed the break-in of my 1450 conversion to 1550. The objective was to hit 100hp/100tq and maintain the integrity of the engine rpm for touring cross country.

Need some of you to help me think through reasons why my 95" build on my 2006 SG did not produce better results (especially torque). Don't get me wrong, the performance is better than stock. After the break-in and additional tuning on the dyno, the results were a bit disappointing 96hp/92tq [:@].. The A/F ratio is 13.4 and the curve on the chart is fine.

This is the 2nd engine that I have had built. I am not an expert, but I am not a novice either. I was especially concerned when the HP was higher than the torque. The HD wrench said that the 2006 engines have a slightly different throttle body which has a tendency to reduce torque. Not sure if that contributes to the results. Other thoughts include the 251 Cam that was installed? A bad port job (Mancuso HD)? Other?

The following provides the parts:

1020-0001 Power Commander 02-04 FLT USB
Big Ness Sucker
Cyl-95 95"bored and honed cylindar
32076-04 Compression release
25121-03 SE 251 cam
18273-00 SE performance valve spring kit
18266-03 valve spring shim kit
16101-01 SE head gasket
17052-99b top end head gasket
37951-98 diaphraghm spring
16933-99b High performance heads
22440-00a SE HTCC piston kit
0932-0018 Fueling oil pump
0929-0005 Tappet set TC88 HP+
DS-193723 Adjustable push rods
436-32b D&D Fat Cat 2:1 Exhaust
17045-99c Gasket kit & cam service
Heads-RP06 SE Race Port Compression Valve Job
17378-98 Roller rocker kit

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Shovelhead Bob 09-04-2006 02:58 AM