Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

just finished my cam swap, my thoughts..

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2011, 08:40 PM
tking308
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just finished my cam swap, my thoughts..

First and foremost a HUGE THANK YOU to Atrain68 and iclick. The cam swap threads you both did are what gave me the confidence to try this. Both of them also helped throughout the process through PM.

I'm not a mechanic, this is the first time I've done anything to the inside of ANY engine. I have changed the occasional water pump or alternator over the years,but that's it.

A couple of note... and DUH moments..

I decided, for financial reasons, to re-use the stock push rods. I've got an '08 RKC. The fuel tank quick disconnect is already there. Taking the tank off was SIMPLE.
I got lucky I guess. My exhaust was NOT the PITA most people say it is. My bike only has 8500 miles on it. (I bought it 4 months ago with 5k on it).
The biggest PITA to me was the PR covers. WHAT A PAIN!
There are several special tools involved in the process. All the ones I bought made that particular job MUCH easier.
I finally broke down and bought the long swivel socket to re-install the exhaust. I had to buy it on the internet, nobody local had one.
If you're going to go through the rocker boxes you'll need a small wrench called a "1/2 inch flank drive "dog bone" torque adapter. It's made by SNAP-ON and they REALLY think a lot of these litte wrenches. They wanted $30 each for them and you need two different sizes. I made my own by welding a old 3/8" drive socket to the middle of an old box end wrench. You don't need them for removal but in order to torque the bolts back down, you will.
The lifter holding magnets were great, I spent 30 minutes trying to bend the clip like they show in the manual and finally gave up.