Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New handlebars.. New issues..

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2013, 11:22 PM
SF_BluCllr
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New handlebars.. New issues..

Whats going on everyone, new to the site and looking to pick some member's brains.

Just installed a set of 16" meat hook style handlebars on my 2000 FLHT. Got everything hooked back up and now nothing on the right side works control-wise. No ignition, no brake light, no turn signal. Im an electrician by trade and im immeadiatly assuming its the wiring going through the bar (that i had to extend). But before i go ahead and go through the pain in the *** process of taking it back out i wanted to know if anyone knows anything else i should check first? I left my continuity meter at work so i couldnt check for shorts tonight. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks for your time

Old 04-09-2013, 11:24 PM
streetglidetroy
Road Captain

Sounds like you better check and make sure you got the wires back to where theyre supposed to be in the duetsch connector

Old 04-09-2013, 11:33 PM
SF_BluCllr
Novice

yea im hoping to get more answers when i get the trusty ol voltometer out but i made a wiring diagram and feel pretty comfortable with how it all went together. But definatly going to check it out, thanks for the input!

Old 04-09-2013, 11:36 PM
dickey
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,473 Likes on 2,475 Posts

Might've pinched an ignition wire in the control housing. (my guess)

Maybe try losening the housing & jiggling it to see if anything works.

Old 04-09-2013, 11:42 PM
SF_BluCllr
Novice

would that cause the turn signal and the brake light not to work though??

Old 04-10-2013, 12:07 AM
RoninR1
Intermediate

Originally Posted by SF_BluCllr