Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2006 FLHTCUI - just want to add high flow air breather

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2011, 08:04 AM
hillcountryflt
Road Captain
Received 34 Likes on 21 Posts
Default 2006 FLHTCUI - just want to add high flow air breather

I have not been able to get a consistent answer from some I trust regarding an upgrade I want to do to my new-to-me 2006 FLHTCUI (electra glide ultra).
This bike, with 6500 miles, is completely stock. I simply want to add either a K&N air breather kit (RK-3910 or RK-3909) or perhaps a screamin eagle to my bike. K&N techs say nothing else is needed. My indy says I should get a tuner if I do that or perhaps a 02 Enrichment Device, which I have yet to find one for my model/year.
I am new to EFI. I understand how to take care of a carb.
Anyone in the know want to share your wisdom?

Old 09-09-2011, 08:09 AM
DR. V-TWIN
Former Sponsor
Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts

A tuner, XIEDS or a dealer download. I vote for a real tuner as the bike will run the best with it. The goal is to richen up the mixture like you would do with a carb via new jets and or turning the air fuel ration mixture screw, but this is how this is done on a fuel injection bike.

This is where it gets confusing as there are numerous choices for tuners and way to have the bike tuned. There are auto tuners, tuners you load a map onto, and then you can always get a tuner and have the bike put on a Dyno for a custom map.

I almsot forgot to say taht by adding a new air filter, you are leaning out an already lean mixture that will cause the bike to ping and run even hotter. Not good for the engine. Richening it up will cool it and allow a smoother and better running bike.
Drew

Old 09-09-2011, 08:28 AM
hillcountryflt
Road Captain