Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

changing exhaust qu8estion

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2014, 09:02 PM
moeo7
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default changing exhaust qu8estion

I have a 2007 road king with stock exhaust. they are very quiet. I just ordered some slip ons from American classic motors. I have been reading all these threads about the motor being to lean after altering the stock exhaust. Also some companys selling aftermarket slip ons state that you don't need to retune with their products. my question is wouldn't the check engine light go on if the motor was running to lean and harming the motor?

Old 07-16-2014, 09:24 PM
tmultra
Road Warrior
Received 593 Likes on 190 Posts

I'm no expert but I dont think the light would come on for a lean condition because there is no part that is malfunctioning. Could be wrong but that is my guess. If you are only doing slip ons and not changing the air cleaner to a high flow you are ok without a retune because the bike will compensate for a small change in air flow. Your bike is already running lean from the factory.

Old 07-16-2014, 09:24 PM
txfxstrider
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 85 Likes on 54 Posts

Don't know about the warning light coming on but you do not need to re-tune if all you change is the exhaust. If you also change to a high performance free flowing air cleaner along with the better flowing exhaust then you need to download a re-tune. Stage 1 etc.

Old 07-16-2014, 09:44 PM
BackRoader
Road Master
Received 105 Likes on 84 Posts

But adding a tuner will allow you to make the bike run richer, which makes it run better and cooler. I strongly recommend adding a high flow air filter (K&N, etc) also. Then you could add nw cams, a big bore, high comp heads...never ending, but thats the fun of it.

Old 07-17-2014, 04:55 PM
moeo7