VRSC Models V-Rod, Street Rod, Night Rod and Night Rod Special

1st ride on my Night Rod Special

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2007, 12:34 PM
CJKCyclone
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st ride on my Night Rod Special

I picked up my bike on Friday. Here are some impressions I have in my first 350 miles. I fully expect this to be less of a story and more of a bunch of thoughts thrown down in this post. Please don't expect A+ composition/grammar/spelling. : )

A little background on my riding history. I started riding on a 2000 Honda Nighthawk 750. It was a pretty quick bike. Very easy to handle, kind of a jack-of-all-trades bike. It did everything well, but wasn't excellent in any category. I traded that in on 2006 FXSTI. I had the stage 1 done to this bike and had it dyno tuned. It made almost exactly 79HP and 79lb/ft torque after the tuning. Not too shabby forstage 1 88-incher. It also had the V&H BSS exhaust with the quiet baffles. even with the quiet baffles I set off car alarms. It rode well, but loafed around turns and could never be considered 'sporty" by any definition.

OK, so on the VRSCDX - WOW! I got the black denim paint with the vivid black stripes. I had no idea how much I was going to love this bike. I am still in the break-in so I have not had her over 7K RPMs, but the power is incredible, especially on the highway when rolling on. The handling is taking some getting used to though. I envisioned easier turning and smoother handling from a lower center of gravity, but I think the 240mm tire is slowing down the responsivness here. Perhaps I just need to get used to it...like I said, I am only 350 miles into life with this bike. By far, the most impressive aspect of the bike, to me, are the brakes. I was never happy with the FXST brakes. I could squeeze the hell outta them and never get the bite I wanted. The VRSCDX brakes are perfect.