Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1999 dyna stabilizer...tank slapper..

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2015, 01:31 AM
deedee4150
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 dyna stabilizer...tank slapper..

hi just traded my 2003 softail for a 99 dyna low rider....do i need a stabilizer for this year?because i heard only 2003 models need a stabilizer..

Old 03-28-2015, 08:43 AM
1999 Wide Glide
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I have been riding my 99 WG for 3 years without one. Never knew it needed one.

Old 03-28-2015, 12:10 PM
Max Headflow
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,252 Likes on 3,626 Posts

Not sure where 2003 all of a sudden need a stabilizer.. The frame is pretty much the same back to the EVO era and up tp the 06s.. One thing to note is that the wide glides and low riders had more rake in the frame than the other FXDs of that time so they tend to be more stable.. With the bike being 16 years old, I would make sure that the tires, wheels and suspension are in good condition. If you are looking into pushing the bike to it's limits, you want to upgrade the suspension, steel spoked wheels first then look into stabilizers.

Old 03-28-2015, 12:16 PM
Ape_Hanger
Road Master
Received 24 Likes on 13 Posts

My 97 Dyna has made it 18 years without a stabilizer. Feel free to put one on your bike though if you want to.

Old 03-28-2015, 04:28 PM
fxdlx
Road Master
Received 97 Likes on 79 Posts

Whether you need a stabilizer or not depends on how you ride, not the year of Dyna.
If you are into 80+mph corners you may need the stabilizer.
I have experienced the dyna flop on my 99.

Old 03-28-2015, 05:31 PM
bessee
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 Dyna FXDF "Stabilized" by True-Track