Dealer said the standard 6R12 HD plugs come gapped. - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

Dealer said the standard 6R12 HD plugs come gapped.

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-22-2008, 06:45 PM
pennetta's Avatar
pennetta pennetta is offline
One Of The Regulars
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dealer said the standard 6R12 HD plugs come gapped.

I changed my oil/filter and switched to HD Syn. I wanted to check the plugs to see how they were burning and figured while they were out to replace them. The dealer said the standard 6R12 HD plugs come gapped so when I went to put the new ones in I couldn't find my feeler guage quickly so I just put anti-seize on threads and torqued them down.
My question is are they actually gapped at the factory to HD specs?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:04 PM
kk6pg's Avatar
kk6pg kk6pg is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beautiful Downtown Burbank
Posts: 2,289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When i put mine in, they came gapped to 040 out of the box.
With any plug, you ought to check them before you install. Or at least look at them to see if they look like the gap is right
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:08 PM
Terry"TheTrollKiller"'s Avatar
Terry"TheTrollKiller" Terry"TheTrollKiller" is offline
"Administrator & Troll Slayer"
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, IL
Posts: 20,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kk6pg View Post
When i put mine in, they came gapped to 040 out of the box.
With any plug, you ought to check them before you install. Or at least look at them to see if they look like the gap is right
True, all ya have to do is drop one and it's not gapped anymore.

Terry
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:19 PM
2005UltraNC's Avatar
2005UltraNC 2005UltraNC is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not sure I would trust them gapped correctly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:34 PM
07 dyna man's Avatar
07 dyna man 07 dyna man is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: bradford county pa.
Posts: 490
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default plugs

they are supposed to be gapped but in shipping and possibly being dropped a few times i would check them any way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:56 PM
sonic's Avatar
sonic sonic is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 559
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's to easy not to check
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:56 PM
seniorsuperglideE8 seniorsuperglideE8 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Holland, Mi
Posts: 7,635
Thanks: 0
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Default

+1 on the plugs being gapped correctly in the box, but I always check prior to installation.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2008, 11:00 PM
Not E'nuff Harley's Avatar
Not E'nuff Harley Not E'nuff Harley is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 971
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

As an auto mechanic for the last 29 yrs., I would never install a plug without checking the gap. I have seen hundreds of "gapped" plugs that were at the wrong gap.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:14 AM
rdondes rdondes is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Brunswick - People's Republic of New Jersey
Posts: 1,688
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just had my 10,000 mile service at Harley Davidson of Long Branch in New Jersey. Spark plugs were replaced. On the ride home, my engine started knocking/pinging like crazy. One of the things I checked were the spark plugs. The professional mechanics had (a) only put them in just slightly tighter than finger tight, and (b) not gapped them - they were at .045 and should have been between .038 - .043. Always check the spark plug gap. The "factory gapping" myth is just that - myth.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2008, 07:23 AM
Bill-FXDF Bill-FXDF is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Forks, North Dakota
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Morning.
After being a mechanic for over 48 years and riding bikes for over forty years (boy that really dates me !), anyway, I've seen many companies that state that their plugs are already gapped. But as others have said, it is much better to be safe than sorry - always check the gap before installing plugs !!!! Enough said ..... ;-)
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct Spark Plugs 98 Evo with SE Heads astark Evo Classic Models 23 02-28-2016 07:58 PM
Spark Plug Gap joedirt88 Sportster Models 7 05-31-2014 10:21 AM
Correct Plug and Gap for 77 Ironhead roadartist Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 0 05-27-2013 08:38 PM
spark plug gapping? blackchipjim Softail Models 6 04-05-2012 12:59 PM
Spark plug gap Electra1 Touring Models 5 04-12-2010 11:09 PM


Tags
2007, 6r12, 6r12gap, antiseize, correct, davidson, fxdse, gap, harley, hd, part, plug, plugs, spark, xl1200

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.