Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > Harley Davidson Motorcycles > Dyna Glide Models
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: True-Track Inc.

Welcome to HDForums.com!

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-22-2008, 06:45 PM
pennetta's Avatar
pennetta pennetta is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 291
Default Dealer said the standard 6R12 HD plugs come gapped.

I changed my oil/filter and switched to HD Syn. I wanted to check the plugs to see how they were burning and figured while they were out to replace them. The dealer said the standard 6R12 HD plugs come gapped so when I went to put the new ones in I couldn't find my feeler guage quickly so I just put anti-seize on threads and torqued them down.
My question is are they actually gapped at the factory to HD specs?
__________________
2007 FXDB- Black Denim- S&S Quick Setup Kit (Baloney Cut and Low Restriction Air Intake), Brown Corbin Hollywood Solo, Nostalgia grips, Black Fin Derby and Timer covers, Hex Bolt look battery cover. DIY- Custom Side verticle curved license plate, custom tank flame job and Rocker C tank emblems.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:04 PM
kk6pg's Avatar
kk6pg kk6pg is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beautiful Downtown Burbank
Posts: 2,287
Default

When i put mine in, they came gapped to 040 out of the box.
With any plug, you ought to check them before you install. Or at least look at them to see if they look like the gap is right
__________________

Its never criminal if its done with friends
08 883 Sportster Super Glide with a 96 inch kit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:08 PM
Terry"TheTrollKiller"'s Avatar
Terry"TheTrollKiller" Terry"TheTrollKiller" is offline
"Administrator & Troll Slayer"
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Charleston, IL
Posts: 19,915
Terry Tillis
Send a message via AIM to Terry"TheTrollKiller"
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kk6pg View Post
When i put mine in, they came gapped to 040 out of the box.
With any plug, you ought to check them before you install. Or at least look at them to see if they look like the gap is right
True, all ya have to do is drop one and it's not gapped anymore.

Terry
__________________
"A Bachelor is a man
who never made the
same mistake once
!"

HDF Administrator
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:19 PM
2005UltraNC's Avatar
2005UltraNC 2005UltraNC is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,200
Default

Not sure I would trust them gapped correctly
__________________

95"Big Bore,HD Flat Top Pistons, Andrews TW-26G ,
Tmax/AutoTune, Fueling Super Oil Pump, Fueling Lifters
HD Adjustable Pushrods, Big Boyz Ported 9.5, FAT CAT 2in1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:34 PM
07 dyna man's Avatar
07 dyna man 07 dyna man is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: bradford county pa.
Posts: 487
NO THANKS more like two faced book and for people with to much time on theyre hands no way
Default plugs

they are supposed to be gapped but in shipping and possibly being dropped a few times i would check them any way
__________________

07 fxdwg S&S 103 jugs,
wiseco forged pistons 10.2to1
mega-flo heads,54h cams, PCIII
ness big sucker stg II,HP.Inc.bored TB.
D&D fat cat, barnett scorpion, 30T Andrews,
68t rear pulley,S.E. compensator 110hp. 111tq
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:56 PM
sonic's Avatar
sonic sonic is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 559
Default

It's to easy not to check
__________________
http://www.hdforums.com/forum/image.php?u=60837&type=sigpic&dateline=1218746778
2008 FXDSE-2
I'm going to be a happy idiot and struggle for the legal tender...Jackson Browne
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2008, 07:56 PM
seniorsuperglideE8 seniorsuperglideE8 is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Holland, Mi
Posts: 5,722
Default

+1 on the plugs being gapped correctly in the box, but I always check prior to installation.
__________________
tailhook seat plumber

02 FXD 95" BB, 203 cams, low restriction mufflers
05 FXDLI, stage 1, low restriction mufflers
13 Road Glide Ultra, getting some bling...

"The best alarm clock is sunshine on the chrome."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2008, 11:00 PM
Not E'nuff Harley's Avatar
Not E'nuff Harley Not E'nuff Harley is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 848
Why would I facebook? Wouldn't "tweet" if you held a gun to my head
Default

As an auto mechanic for the last 29 yrs., I would never install a plug without checking the gap. I have seen hundreds of "gapped" plugs that were at the wrong gap.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:14 AM
rdondes rdondes is offline
Road Warrior
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: East Brunswick - People's Republic of New Jersey
Posts: 1,646
Default

I just had my 10,000 mile service at Harley Davidson of Long Branch in New Jersey. Spark plugs were replaced. On the ride home, my engine started knocking/pinging like crazy. One of the things I checked were the spark plugs. The professional mechanics had (a) only put them in just slightly tighter than finger tight, and (b) not gapped them - they were at .045 and should have been between .038 - .043. Always check the spark plug gap. The "factory gapping" myth is just that - myth.
__________________

2007 FXDC Super Glide Custom
V&H Straightshot HS Slip-Ons w/BCT Baffles
V&H FuelPak, SE Stage1 A/C Kit
H-D Forward Controls, H-D Low Profile QD Windshield
Kuryakyn Pegs, Hogrida License Plate Bracket
H-D Logo A/C Cover, Mustang Vintage Solo Seat
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2008, 07:23 AM
Bill-FXDF Bill-FXDF is offline
Hang Around
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Grand Forks, North Dakota
Posts: 95
Default

Morning.
After being a mechanic for over 48 years and riding bikes for over forty years (boy that really dates me !), anyway, I've seen many companies that state that their plugs are already gapped. But as others have said, it is much better to be safe than sorry - always check the gap before installing plugs !!!! Enough said ..... ;-)
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:23 AM
 
 
 
P
Reply

Tags
2007, 6r12, 6r12gap, antiseize, correct, davidson, fxdse, gap, harley, hd, part, plug, plugs, spark, xl1200


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2

Admin, Emails & Contact Details