Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shift Speeds & The "Shakes"

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2011, 07:39 PM
tpapa
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shift Speeds & The "Shakes"

I'm a new Harley pilot. This is my first Harley and the first HD I've ridden.
I have a 2011 Wide Glide and it does not have a tach. I've just reached 500 miles on it and I am curious about what speeds to up shift at. The owner's manual has a table of MPH to up shift at if you do not have a tach.
1st to 2nd - 15 mph
2nd to 3rd - 25 mph
3rd to 4th - 35 mph
4th to 5th - 45 mph
5th to 6th - 55 mph
These speeds seem to be too low. The bike sounds and feels better if I add 5 to 8 mph to these speeds. In riding the first 500 miles, I wanted to avoid lumbering the engine and avoid too high of RPM's. The engine has an RPM region where it shakes more than any other RPM. I don't have a tach, but knowing that idle is 1000 rpm, I'd guess the shakes range to be around 1500 rpm+/-. If I shift at the book recommended speeds, it ends up running with the shakes until I accelerate out of that RPM range.

Since this is the first Harley I've owned and ridden, I have no reference of right and wrong for the beast.

What speeds do you use to upshift?
Is it typical for the 96 cu-in V-twin to have an RPM range where it shakes more?

Old 05-28-2011, 07:59 PM
Junior in NE
Road Master
Received 695 Likes on 207 Posts

IMO you need to add about 10-15 mph to each shift, you don't want to lug it. Get the rpm's up and the vibs should lessen.

Old 05-28-2011, 08:06 PM
tpapa
Intermediate

If I get the RPM's up, the vibes do lessen significantly. It rins great with a few more RPM pushing it. Are the vibes in a specific RPM band normal?