2011 FXDB (Street Bob) Handlebar Q... - Harley Davidson Forums



Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, FXR Super Glide, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by: Phat Performance's

2011 FXDB (Street Bob) Handlebar Q...

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-06-2011, 08:39 PM
jkirke jkirke is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 2011 FXDB (Street Bob) Handlebar Q...

So I'm looking at purchasing and installing taller Apes on my '11 FXDB. The stock bars are 1" correct? Why when I search on the web for new apes they're all 1 1/4"? Will the 1 1/4" apes fit without any additional mod to the stock risers?

Thanks in advance,
jkirke
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2011, 11:27 PM
iDodgimus's Avatar
iDodgimus iDodgimus is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 888
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Stockers are 1" yup, and I doubt that 1.25 inch bars would work with those risers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2011, 12:08 AM
Bspike1 Bspike1 is offline
Road Captain
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Owensboro, Ky
Posts: 585
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not at all... the new SB's have the risers integrated into the upper tree. to go to bigger bars you have to change the upper tree as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2011, 03:16 AM
Tat2u Tat2u is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 1,199
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Depends, alot of the 1.25 bars are stepped down to 1" at the clamp area.

Last edited by Tat2u; 08-07-2011 at 03:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2011, 03:39 AM
JaronB's Avatar
JaronB JaronB is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

There are a lot of 1" bars you just have to look. Sometimes in the description you have the option to choose 1" or 1.25" of the same bars. I think there are quite a few running 1.25" bars on the SB without the step down. You'll just have a bigger gap between the top clamp and the lower clamp. But I think they had to lower their fork tubes down a little to clear the bottom of the bar.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2011, 03:57 AM
Tat2u Tat2u is offline
Road Master
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 1,199
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

quote
"I think there are quite a few running 1.25" bars on the SB without the step down. You'll just have a bigger gap between the top clamp and the lower clamp."

um no..you can't use an 1.25" bar in a standard street bob triple tree that has th intergrated risers unless that bar is stepped down to 1.000" to fit the clamps
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-07-2011, 07:30 AM
jkirke jkirke is offline
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for all the great info and help. I'll continue my internet search for 1" apes!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2011, 09:50 AM
bikridr69 bikridr69 is offline
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado springs
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i put 1.25 inch bars that are stepped down to 1. inch in the riser. with the 1.25 inch bars (on the outside) you have to slide the tripple trees up just a bit. check out brcustomcycle.com for some bad *** bars
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-07-2011, 12:45 PM
JaronB's Avatar
JaronB JaronB is offline
Ultimate HDF Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tat2u View Post
quote
"I think there are quite a few running 1.25" bars on the SB without the step down. You'll just have a bigger gap between the top clamp and the lower clamp."

um no..you can't use an 1.25" bar in a standard street bob triple tree that has th intergrated risers unless that bar is stepped down to 1.000" to fit the clamps

That's why I said I think! I did some searching and everybody that I found has the step down, but they still had to lower the fork tubes depending on the bars or get lonerindustries risers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-07-2011, 08:07 PM
blueangel73's Avatar
blueangel73 blueangel73 is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 3,188
Thanked 30 Times in 24 Posts
Default

If you want to go with the 1.25 that steps down to 1.00 at the clamp you can either lower your fork tubes as already stated or go to lonerindustries.com and order a 1" riser that is designed to work with the Street Bob's stock riser. That is what I have on mine. Look in my albums for picks. They were only $70 I believe. You other option is a new top tree with new risers.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carlini apes fxdb, and other insights? bigbadpoppa Dyna Glide Models 0 08-14-2016 04:29 AM
Get this out of my garage sale lllFIGJAMlll Dyna Parts 29 12-24-2014 11:32 AM
Apes on FXST? Steve06FXDB Softail Models 38 01-17-2014 05:55 PM
Arlen ness tall windshield (dyna fxdb) HDgreg216 Dyna Glide Models 0 11-05-2013 03:40 AM
16" apes on '12 Street Bob FXDB jthunder Dyna Glide Models 3 09-12-2013 02:57 PM


Tags
2011, 49mm, black, bob, davidson, dyna, fxdb, gap, handlebar, handlebars, harley, mount, pad, part, spacers, street, triple, upper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.