Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Change your own tires?!

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2013, 10:15 PM
parrettdl
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Change your own tires?!

So, its that time to get new tires, so I priced around and most of the local shops want 70/axle to change my tires.

between that and the cost of the actual tire, im looking at 450-500 all together : \

I've seen posts from people changing their own tires, and I have a manual so I can see what all is involved, but i'm wondering how feasible it is.

the main thing that concerns me is the alignment and getting the right clearance with the calipers, etc...

im not a mechanic. I only have a basic tool set and would need to buy a jack (or something), tire irons, etc, but I have a garage and I can do basic mechanical stuff (like oil changes).

should I just leave it to the shop, or does it only look harder than it actually is?

I really cant shell out all that right now, and don't feel safe riding with the tires as they are. if it comes down to it im going to have to put it up for storage until finances allow.

thoughts?

Old 06-21-2013, 10:26 PM
Notz
Cruiser

500 for tires? do you use golden tires? and im usually in the same boat though when it comes to tire time... hint... only change the rear it gets beat up more than the front

Old 06-21-2013, 10:29 PM
rjg883c
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 542 Likes on 396 Posts

The last 4 tires I have bought were put on by the shop/store as part of the purchase price. These were for metrics, but at the time of purchase the person that sold me the tire had no idea what I was riding.

He(they) just said pull around back and the shop people would put the new tire on. You may want to check the SOP in your area at various places that sell tires.

Ron