Dyna Glide Models Super Glide, Super Glide Sport, Super Glide Custom, Dyna Glide Convertible, Super Glide T-Sport, Dyna Glide Police, Dyna Switchback, Low Rider, Street Bob, Fat Bob and Wide Glide.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fairing durability comparison?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2014, 05:43 PM
outlaw16
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fairing durability comparison?

First I was wondering if anyone has done any type of comparison on the different brands of quarter fairings on the market today.

The reason I bring this up is that I've had the Rifle roadster fairing with bubble windshield on my FXD since mid-2010. Over the last few months I have noticed that both the windshield and fairing have become warped. I have remounted the fairing and windshield (and cracked the windshield somehow) but when I "straighten out" the fairing, the windshield becomes more warped and when I mount it so the windshield is symmetrical, the fairing is warped. Since I'm no mechanic, I'm pretty sure that I'm partially responsible for the warping, hence the lack of any mention of calling Rifle.

With that all being said, I'm probably going to order a new fairing. My new criteria will be style, functionality, price, and now ease of mounting since I never really felt comfortable with how the Rifle was mounted with the adjustable struts. Also there just seems to be lots more options now then there was back in 2010.

I used to have a memphis shades sport's windshield before I got my Rifle and so have the docking hardware for the Gauntlet. That would be the most economical. Otherwise, I can only tell style differences. Anyone got any strong feelings against the Gauntlet?

Thanks,
Ryan

Old 03-21-2014, 07:25 PM
Motoscott311
Novice

Check out http://conelysaccessoriesusa.com/