Engine Mechanical Topics Discussion for motor builds, cams, head work, stripped bolts and other engine related issues. The good and the bad. If it goes round and around or up and down, post it here.

Question About 88 c.i. upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014, 09:55 AM
Crex39
Road Master
Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Question About 88 c.i. upgrade

I am new to the engine modification scene and have a couple of questions. I have a 2006 Electraglide Classic, still an 88 c.i. I had some S&S .509 gear drive cams put in and it runs much better, definitely stronger. I am putting together a 2000 Softail to take the E.G.'s place and I plan to sell the E.G. when the Softail is ready to get on the road. Because of the money I spent on the bike, I am limited in funds this year.

I would like to go with a gear drive cam set up in the Softail because frankly the cam tensioner issue scares the crap out of me. The motor only has 13k miles on it, but you can't be too careful. Over the next winter I plan on going up to at least a 96 c.i. kit, but for this year I will be stuck at 88. If the engine is still an 88 this year would it make sense to get ported heads and if it does, what size cam can I go to with ported heads to get decent country road riding in. Is there any benefit at all in porting the heads if it stays an 88 this year?

The set up I can afford this year including what is on there already is V&H Longshots, Screaming Eagle Intake with K&N filter, cams, an S&S Super E. carb and ported heads. My main concern is not having to do the cams again when I upgrade the displacement to a 96 or 103 next year. I know the cams help a lot from my experience with the Electraglide, but I don't want to install cams two years in a row.

Thanks in advance.

I am decent with a wrench, but the engineering behind it confuses me a little.

Old 03-26-2014, 11:43 AM
djl
HDF Community Team

Received 2,031 Likes on 1,499 Posts

Originally Posted by Crex39