General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tall Guys Unite! Question on bike sizing.

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2014, 07:13 PM
ScrewballSurprise
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tall Guys Unite! Question on bike sizing.

Hey all,

I'm looking for more information on what HD models that you tall ones prefer to ride. I'm 6'2 with a 34" inseam to give you an idea. I've played around with ergo-cycle.com to see some models, but nothing beats actually sitting on bike, so I'm trying to narrow it down right now.

What further complicates this is that I'm also a novice - signing up for a Rider's Edge course and getting my endorsement in the next couple of months while I save up for the bike (used of course!). Further complications - I'm a dumb 20 year old kid who would probably be willing to sacrifice comfort for 'cool', and I enjoy long road trips. I current take 4-5 hour drives in my truck on Saturdays and Sundays just to explore the local area. I would be switching my truck out for a bike, and also be trying to do bike camping as best I could when I had long weekends or a whole week off.

I love the look of the 883, and I really wanted one as my first bike; but as my dad, an old fart who rides a sportster, told me, "Son, everybody be asking who sold the Jolly Green Giant a midget bike." I think he also thought I would be the kind of guy who took a coast to coast or tried to get an Iron Butt patch on sportster. He's right - I probably would.

Some of the bikes I'm interested in are the Blackline, the '06-'08 Wideglide, the Night Train, and the Softail Custom. So tall guys - how do these fit you? What other bikes should I consider? Any general advice for a fellow beanstalk?

Thanks,

ScrewballSurprise

Old 10-27-2014, 07:23 PM
RANGER73
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 5,925 Likes on 3,023 Posts