General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Starting to hear a bad sound on start up.

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2014, 08:43 PM
C908
Road Warrior
Received 48 Likes on 38 Posts
Default Starting to hear a bad sound on start up.

It only happens every so often but the soon has I hit the starter button I hear kind of a scraping sound as it turns over. I have a 2010 Ultra Classic about to turn over 32,000 miles. I bought the bike new and it's always had the best of care. I'm wondering if it could be the cam tensioners starting to go bad ? I think I heard it twice today but other than that it's been a while since I've heard it. My bike seems to run fine it's just the occasional start up noise that has me concerned. This is my first time dealing with this type of thing, any suggestions ? Thanks.

Old 11-02-2014, 08:52 PM
hoethree
Elite HDF Member
Received 68 Likes on 20 Posts

Seems like I "hear" new sounds every time I ride my Harley. I have 58k on it now, a 2010 StreetGlide. I have the ESP, let it blow up, CNA will pay for it.

Old 11-02-2014, 09:07 PM
fskitch
Road Master
Received 313 Likes on 160 Posts

Originally Posted by C908
It only happens every so often but the soon has I hit the starter button I hear kind of a scraping sound as it turns over. I have a 2010 Ultra Classic about to turn over 32,000 miles. I bought the bike new and it's always had the best of care. I'm wondering if it could be the cam tensioners starting to go bad ? I think I heard it twice today but other than that it's been a while since I've heard it. My bike seems to run fine it's just the occasional start up noise that has me concerned. This is my first time dealing with this type of thing, any suggestions ? Thanks.