General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shoulder surgery (Mumford procedure) recovery

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2015, 10:26 AM
racinghoss
Road Captain
Received 58 Likes on 30 Posts
Default Shoulder surgery (Mumford procedure) recovery

I've been putting off getting this surgery for several years. I have bad arthritis in my right shoulder, bone spurs, impingement, etc.

The pain isn't getting better. Actually it's slowly getting worse. So, I am considering going through with it this winter.

I don't want to give up any more riding season than absolutely necessary. Has anyone had this done? How long to recover enough to ride a full day?

I am also kind of a fitness nut. How long before I can get back in the gym...weights, running, etc?

Old 08-02-2015, 10:41 AM
DannyZ71
Extreme HDF Member
Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

I tore my rotator cuff a couple of summers ago and when they finally decided to do the surgery, it really only kept me off the bike a couple of weeks. In fact, the vibration from riding actually made it feel pretty good. But that first week especially, do exactly what they say to do. I made the mistake of reaching into the fridge on my 3rd day from surgery and grabbing the gallon of milk. I dropped it and went to my knees pretty quick. Thought my arm was coming off my body.

That said, I live with a little pain every day. Some days are worse. But it hasn't kept me off the bike. Not sure I could say that if I had apes.

Old 08-02-2015, 10:51 AM
Uncle Larry
Seasoned HDF Member

Received 47,791 Likes on 18,561 Posts