General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help me pick a bike.

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2015, 07:32 AM
Strugatsio
Road Captain
Received 197 Likes on 111 Posts
Default Help me pick a bike.

I started riding in August 2014. Circumstances evolved to where I ended up on a 2014 Triumph Scrambler which is a fine bike. I've had it customized to suit my tastes.

But I find myself, after having ridden nearly 5000 miles in a little over a year, gravitating toward a Harley. Last weekend the wife and I stopped by a Harley dealership (great folks, btw) in Tulsa and she was wanting me to pull the trigger on a 2015 Dyna. But I told her I needed some time to do some research.

Maybe you can help me. I have lower back issues and need the foot pegs as close to underneath my torso as possible so that I can use my legs as shock absorbers.

I also want the distinctive traditional Harley sound. The Vrod Muscle, for example, is a different engine? I'm assuming it doesn't really sound like a Harley?

I also like to lean in the twisties, so exhaust clearance/foot peg clearance could be an issue.

I've noticed older Dynas have the foot pegs set back more than the newer models, but the salesman indicated newer models have forward controls.

Also, my inseam is 37 inches. I would have to have the seat built up as I did my Scrambler.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thanx

Old 10-07-2015, 07:39 AM
FNGonaRK
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 7,665 Likes on 2,675 Posts

Get a Road King.

Old 10-07-2015, 08:03 AM
uncle kebo
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,377 Likes on 2,207 Posts

Hey! I own a Harley and a Triumph. They are 2 way different bikes and your looking at a few challenges

* Leaning in the twisties - You can lean a Harley but your not leaning it like a Triumph or an import. Its just not gonna happen