General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Abate vs MSF riding courses

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2016, 09:31 PM
CVO SG
Road Warrior
Received 252 Likes on 205 Posts
Default Abate vs MSF riding courses

Wanting to sign up for a some training this yr. Been riding for over 40 yrs, but always room for improvement by trained personnel, vs my self taught experience.

Local HD dealership is taking registrations for a 4 day MSF course, approx 25 hrs with 6 students and 2 instructors, they provide HD bikes. Sounds like a great deal with almost 1 on 1.

Or

Abate also has an intermediate course, fewer hrs, more students per/instructor.

Looking for some advise on which course you'd recommend, preferably by riders that have gone thru these programs

Thanks

Old 01-25-2016, 10:00 PM
Capt Woody
Cruiser
Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts

Never taken the Abate course but I've taken the MSF Basic Course twice (15 year break between riding) and Advanced Course. I can't say enough about the quality of the instructors for all 3 courses!

Old 01-25-2016, 10:32 PM
stro1965
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 701 Likes on 349 Posts

I'm all about rider training and practice, but if you've been riding for 40 years I have to think you would be bored out of your mind in the basic course.

Old 01-26-2016, 06:50 AM
Traditional
Advanced
Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

Would absolutely agree that one can always learn 'something' new when participating in a course. Much of the course, you may already know, but then occasionally, there might be a 'gem' that you've not considered.

I took the MSF Basic Course in 2010 (after 26 years of non-riding), and took the advanced course about 2 years ago, which was nothing more than the actual riding portion of the Basic Course on your own motorcycle. (pretty disappointed)

Not familiar with the Abate Course either.