General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gotta tell you about this Dealer(Long)

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2009, 02:38 AM
boneman171
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gotta tell you about this Dealer(Long)

I know there is a Thread about Dealers and Stealers but I wanted to post this one seperate. I am new to the Harley World and Have heard that you really have to watch some dealers. I bought my 05 Road Glide with 9,500 miles on it used from a individual so I decided to take it to a dealer and have them do the 10,000 service on it I normally do all my own work but since I did not have the manuals and I wanted them to check out the bike from front to rear.I live north of Nashville Tennessee about a hour from Bowling Green Ky so I decided to call Bowling Green Harley Davidson. I spoke to Allen the service Manager and he was very nice he said he had a tech that lived in Springfield Tn close to me and that he could take the delivery truck home and pick my bike up at my house. and that I would need to be able to pick it up they offer that service only one way. So he got the bike on a Wenesday and on Friday he called me and said it was done but they had found that the Valve seals were leaking he said that Harley was aware of the problem in the 05 models but unless it was under Waranty or you had the extended warranty I would have to pay for the repair and he quoted me $450.00 I ask him if it would be ok to ride this season and have it fixed in the off season and that would also give me time to get the extra money together. He said he thought it would just keep a check on the oil and plugs. Them he said since it was raining that day he would have his Tech bring it back to my house.He said that he would Call Harley and see if they would pitch in any money to help with the cost of repair and get back to me. Well a week went by and no call from Allen so I called him a