General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riders Edge Course

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2010, 11:02 PM
WeeJee
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Riders Edge Course

Woohoo... Wife and I graduated the riders edge course tonight. I took the class to be with my wife so she could learn what it took to learn and understand the mechanics of riding on a bike herself. It was LONG 25 hours (supposed to be) but ended up being longer since we had the largest class that they've taught so far. Saturday ended up being 10 FULL Hours of riding and Sunday was 8. Not to mention the 12 hours of classroom time. Weather was beautiful.

We had 11 participants with different skill sets.

(3 husband/wife teams)

6 people in class who NEVER had riden a motocyle.
1 was coming back after a serious crash in 2000 to relearn the skills.

What I thought was AWESOME - the TOP rider after the riding evaluation was actually a person who NEVER rode a bike before. Her husband had been riding for 11 years (he didn't attend). She was SMOOOOTH... Go Girl..

2 gave up (one was an experienced rider when his wife didn't pass the riding evaluation.)

2 didn't pass the riding evaluation

============
All in all, this course is for EVERYONE. I would HIGHLY recommend this course to those who have been riding for a while too (although there is an advanced course), it is a fantastic and fun course and you use their bike not yours, even if it's to dust off the basics. Bring a friend too..

I found that it was a little dull in some areas but we were ALL there as teams and ALL learned something. Just to see the look of excitement on the people faces when there was accomplishment, motivation and encouragment to those that needed it when things didn't go as planned as well as confidence building with going through all the riding challenges.

============