Thundermax Tuner - Harley Davidson Forums

Go Back   Harley Davidson Forums > General Harley Davidson Forums > General Harley Davidson Chat
Log In 


General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by: J&P Cycles

Thundermax Tuner

Reply
 
 
 
P
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:53 PM
nytryder nytryder is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Fl
Posts: 2,693
Default Thundermax Tuner

Is anyone here using one, if so do you feel it is worth the expense?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:52 PM
redling36 redling36 is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 188
Default

I do not yet have one but plan to have it installed after the 1st of the year. My local indy races bikes and swears that this is the only tuner to use. They will actually install, program and reprogram as necessary for a bit less than the price I have seen listed online.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2010, 06:54 PM
DR. V-TWIN DR. V-TWIN is offline
Former Sponsor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 19,365
Default

I can get you the best price around on the Thundermax when you are ready.

Drew
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:12 PM
MCSarge MCSarge is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,105
Default

I have one on my 09 Nightrain and I am very happy with it. Good power runs cooler and very easy to tune.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010, 08:48 PM
CapnAdventure CapnAdventure is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Great Falls, Va.
Posts: 2,179
Default

I've had one since mid summer. Performance is outstanding, completely changed the character of my bike. No dyno tuning required, either. Yes, well worth the expense.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:26 PM
Cat Mech Cat Mech is offline
Senior Rider
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Salt lake City Utah
Posts: 337
Default

I have one as well. It has been a little hard to get tuned the way I want it, But now that I have it real close it works very well. I would buy another one if needed.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2010, 09:51 PM
HoggyMtnBreakdown HoggyMtnBreakdown is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,533
Default

Have had one on my bike since Spring 2009. It's awesome. Bike runs like a dream with T-Max dialed in.

Some downsides to be aware of:
1. Some experience speedometer shutdown from time to time. It's been a couple months since it's happened to me, but when it happens I lose speedometer, odometer (freezes), and auto-cancel for turn signals. You remedy this by shutting down the bike and re-initializing the ECM.
2. You will lose your distance-to-empty meter permanently.
3. The user interface is not exactly user-friendly or intuitive. There is quite a learning curve.

To my knowledge there are no software updates, as of yet, to fix 1 & 2.

With regards to 3, there are tutorials on the Internet and some very knowledgeable people here, who will help you out. There are also indies, who can program it for you. Once it's dialed in, however, you will probably never have to mess with it again, unless you do a major engine mod or build.

Some people can live with the above, including me, because we love the way the TM makes our bikes run and these things are just minor annoyances.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-26-2010, 11:34 PM
CapnAdventure CapnAdventure is offline
Outstanding HDF Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Great Falls, Va.
Posts: 2,179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoggyMtnBreakdown View Post
Have had one on my bike since Spring 2009. It's awesome. Bike runs like a dream with T-Max dialed in.

Some downsides to be aware of:
1. Some experience speedometer shutdown from time to time. It's been a couple months since it's happened to me, but when it happens I lose speedometer, odometer (freezes), and auto-cancel for turn signals. You remedy this by shutting down the bike and re-initializing the ECM.
2. You will lose your distance-to-empty meter permanently.
3. The user interface is not exactly user-friendly or intuitive. There is quite a learning curve.

To my knowledge there are no software updates, as of yet, to fix 1 & 2.

With regards to 3, there are tutorials on the Internet and some very knowledgeable people here, who will help you out. There are also indies, who can program it for you. Once it's dialed in, however, you will probably never have to mess with it again, unless you do a major engine mod or build.

Some people can live with the above, including me, because we love the way the TM makes our bikes run and these things are just minor annoyances.
I had the speedo shut down 1 time, re-initializing seems to have cured the problem. Sporty's don't have DTE, so no issue there.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-27-2010, 09:51 AM
nytryder nytryder is offline
Club Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Fl
Posts: 2,693
Default

Thanks for the info guys. I appreciate the replies. Now the hard part.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-27-2010, 11:09 AM
bbach bbach is offline
One Of The Regulars
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bismarck, ND
Posts: 163
Default

As I'm now installing a big bore kit and new cams, I've been trying my best to learn about the different tuners out there. I do have a screamin eagle pro super tuner right now which is a very good tuner. However, what I have been finding is that is it not always easy to find a good tuning person who can write a good map for your specific set up and get it flashed to the bike. My local Harley dealer just installs a canned map. That is not what I want for my bike. The indy that is doing my upgrades can use the SEST but he is obviously more comfortable with the software on the Power Commander V and will program that one quite a bit cheaper. So for now, I'm letting him install that and get me set up on the dyno. I've considered the Thundermax as well but had a friend buy one in Stugis and the installer set it up so poorly it barely made it back to Bismarck. Once here we got it set up on a dyno and got it tuned properly. My main point is that no matter what tuner you go with, you need a good tuning man. Over the winter months I hope to explore both my SEST and my Power Commander V so I can better control more of my destiny so to speak. It's interesting and fun, but there are way too many different opinions out there on what is best that's for sure.
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
P
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T anubisss General Harley Davidson Chat 16 10-13-2015 09:10 PM
Test WP50 Testing Area 21 03-22-2014 12:07 AM
Items for sale ITGUY Touring Parts 5 03-01-2014 01:19 PM
SESTP and ??? KruzzenKidd Ignition/Tuner/ECM/Fuel Injection 0 02-24-2014 04:04 PM


Tags
2bar, davidson, dte, ebay, forum, forums, harley, prices, removed, reprogram, restore, sale, sensor, thundermax, tuner, tuners

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.