General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Testing battery tender plus

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2011, 09:09 AM
RidemyEVO
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Testing battery tender plus

No electronic guru here although I do have a volt meter.
Innitially when I received the new battery from Purolator I installed it and put it on the tender for a couple days, proceeded to starting the bike and battery went dead, I figured the tender wasn't enough of a charge so put battery on regular car charger at 4 amp but now that its charged I want to use tender as a cushion when bike not out on the road.
I just installed new starter, 38 amp charging system, battery cables, starter and HD battery and want to make sure I will be trouble free this season.

I have a battery tender plus 12v I've been using for a couple years and was wandering how can I test it to see if its working upto par?

Old 03-30-2011, 10:38 AM
mtgriz
Road Warrior
Received 224 Likes on 158 Posts

Why not just call them? 877-456-7901

Old 03-30-2011, 10:44 AM
lo-rider
Elite HDF Member
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Below ~12 volts, your battery is dead. Fully charged will be ~12.7+ (or whatever your manual says). Should show much higher w/ motor running/charging.