General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thoughts on my DIY cam install

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2014, 09:45 AM
Clayvis
Road Master
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Thoughts on my DIY cam install

Just finished up installing Andrews 48H cams in my 07 Fatboy. Very pleased with the results. I have been wrenching for many years, but this was the deepest I've gotten into a twin cam motor. It was a learning experience! I post up these comments hoping you may learn from my mistakes.

It is CRITICAL that the dots on the cams be lined up PERFECTLY. I thought mine were. They were not. It ran like crap! Talk about a let down! I had re-used the stock push rods with the extra work involved. I was NOT going to do that again. Went out an bought the SE tapered adjustables. Made the do-over MUCH easier.

At 40k miles the primary (outer) cam chain tensioner shoe had grooves on leading edge. Not deep, but while examining them with my fingernail a big chunk of the shoe chipped off! I replaced both tensioners. Also used new lifters (Gaterman 1023's) Of course did inner bearings with the Heartland tools. Easy Peazy. Checked crank runout-.003 No worries.

Pulling/insatlling push rod tube clips is a cinch if you use a thin wire and pull down with a pliers. Forget the screw-driver method!

Fuel Moto sent me a great map for my PC-V. But, they need 2 to 3 days lead time to get you the map. So request it prior to the tear down. They are not there for tech support on Saturday or Sunday. (and don't call at 3:00 pm on Friday and expect a call back before Monday)

The 2nd test ride put an ear to ear grin on my face! Since I am in Florida (sorry cold climate folks) this is our best riding weather. Planning on riding the hell out of it this weekend!.

Old 03-04-2014, 09:53 AM
tmanbuckhunter
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts