Hacked, Conversions and Trailering "Harley Sidecar, Conversion Trikes and Motorcycle Pull Behind Trailering Enthusiasts" A forum for the discussion of your sidecar, Conversion Trike or Pull Behind Motorcycle Trailer.

Major problem I found on lehmans trike kit

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2013, 10:01 AM
Chicota
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Major problem I found on lehmans trike kit

I just wanted to share something I recently learned at the school of hard knocks ( from where I have a doctorate degree ). My original problem was an inability to get the drum brakes to stay adjusted which resulted in a very powerful pull of the front end to the left which could result in our eating an oncoming cages front end most unpleasant I'm sure. Since this was my wifes trike and I'm very fond of her I requested she not ride it till fixed, which was not well accepted. After 3 months of trial and error including a $500.00 attempted by a local shop I deceided to convert from drum brakes to disc. This was only possible due to the assistance of a member of this forum he had developed plans to cheaply convert the brakes. That part was great it just took a couple more months to build the kit and order all the parts. While installing the calipers I noticed the new disc not staying centered as I rotated the wheel hub. Damn that was unexpected since this bike only had 5000 miles on it and had just set most of it's life. I removed the axle took it to work where one of the machinist put it on the lathe and gave me the bad news BENT AXle. The two machinist came up with an explaination that apparently when the kit was made in order to shorten the axle and not have it resplined they took the extra length out of the middle and then welded it back together thus crooked as a politician. So to make a long story longer I had to have a new axle made since I couldn't find the right used axles that could be resplined. What a total pain in the ****. Happy to say this fixed the problem as